Get Married

by pastortimfowler

I was curious about how many people live together (with a girlfriend or boyfriend) before they get married so I did some research. It seems that nearly 75% of couples who are now married lived together before the got married. Slightly over 50% of those who lived together never got married. So this made me think about how this looks among Christians and what I found is that these statistics don’t change very much. Much like divorce, being a Christian has little to do with the numbers of people who live together outside of marriage or get divorced. I think that is a terrible witness for the Christian.
The Bible is very clear about what God thinks about sex outside of marriage and divorce. Hold on! Before you jump to some weird ideas of my opinion, I want to challenge you to take the Bible for its word if you are a believer and if you are not a believer, then it really doesn’t matter. But there is another point I will be making so don’t quit yet.
I also want to stress that God’s grace and forgiveness is greater than any sin and He loves people, not their sins.
So here is the weird twist on my thinking. What right do Christians have to condemn gays who want to get married when we (Christians) think so little of what God tells us about marriage? No, I don’t think that two men or two women should get married. As long as there has been civilization on the planet, marriage has been defined as the union of a man and a woman. I don’t think that should change because two people of the same sex who disagree, want to live together as a couple. I don’t care if they have the same rights and benefits, and if the laws are changed to give them these rights, it is fine with me. I just think it should be called something else besides marriage. I mean, if I am in love with my dog or my motorcycle, should it be called marriage if we go through a ceremony? Let’s not get distracted though.
This is about hypocrisy in the Christian community. It is about Christians doing one thing and condemning another instead of fixing what is wrong in their own lives. Jesus said it like this: “Before you try to take a speck out of another’s eye, first take the beam out of your own”.
God made marriage to be awesome! God made it to be a way to share in life’s good and bad and express love that lasts for a lifetime. He did not make it to be easy and without challenges, in fact Jesus also said “that in this world we will have troubles”. But God did say that marriage was sacred. Why is that hard for someone who believes that they are saved and going to heaven, but doesn’t take something like marriage seriously?
In a strange way, the gay community is trying harder to do what is right than those Christians who are living together outside of marriage and throwing their marriage away in divorce. At least they (gays) believe that marriage is worth fighting for.
So Christian; if you are fighting hard to stop gay marriage but you are not fighting hard to follow what God tells you to do about marriage…shut up! You have no room to condemn or judge. God loves gay and straight. Jesus died for us all. He loves all of mankind and desires those who claim to be His to act like it means something more than insurance to keep you out of Hell.
For 33 years I have been married to the woman of my dreams. God has blessed us with children and grandchildren and with a life that is fulfilling in every way. I can wholeheartedly say that marriage is the best thing that has happened to me. I can tell anyone who asks that marriage is great and worth every minute that I have invested in it. Until the Christian community can get on board with this through their actions, no one will believe our words.
Perhaps we should take a page from the gay community and fight to get married and stay that way. Just remember this; sin is sin. Until the sin in your life is covered by the blood of Jesus, whatever you are doing is going to fall short of God’s plan for you.

One Comment to “Get Married”

  1. AAAAAAAMEN and BOOYAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

