Celebrity Stupidity

by pastortimfowler

The Freedom of Speech

Everyone loves a celebrity. We seek their autograph, their picture, and if you are running for public office, you seek their endorsement. But this brings to mind the old saying, be careful what you ask for, you just might get it.
Today I read about Madonna, (and I thought that she was a has been but I guess she is still a celebrity), and her endorsement of the president for the upcoming election. OUCH! She called him a black Muslim. She should thank her star on the famous Broadway walk that she is not a Republican who said something like that. Why she would be ran out-of-town. But, she is a not and she can say whatever she wants too and not have much backlash. But let me go on record as saying that I think her remarks are absolutely ridiculous and that she should apologize to the president and to the country. I will wait patiently.
Why does she have to call him black? He is our president. I never refer to any president as white or black or Hispanic or any other ethnicity. Is she a racist? If I were to call him black and criticize him I would be called a racist. Does she think that people are stupid? It is obvious that he is not green or blue. I thought that people were people and the color of their skin did not matter. At least that is how I was raised in my middle-income home with white parents and siblings. FYI…we had a cat that was black.
But, Madonna has said stupid stuff in the past and got away with it and it is her right as an American, even though she is white, to say what ever she wants. Freedom of speech does not limit stupid speech and her speech has been stupid at times. But as a celebrity, when she says something, people listen, even if it is offensive to one group or another.
Would it matter if the president was a Muslim? He says that he is a Christian and that doesn’t seem to be a problem. The Republican candidate says that he is a Mormon and I really don’t care. I want to have a president who stands for all Americans of every race and religion. If the president was a Muslim, he would still be the president that was sworn to uphold the constitution of the USA. Does being a Muslin or a Christian or a Jew or a Mormon, or an atheist change that? I hope not and don’t think so.
So why did Madonna say that the president was a black Muslim? The only conclusion that I can come to is that I can think of is that celebrity stupidity is still a part of free speech and as offensive as it may be and as stupid as it may be, she has a right to say whatever she wants in this great country that has great men who serve as president no matter what color they were born or what religion they follow.
GOD BLESS AMERICA!!!

Leave a Reply

