Just A Footnote

by pastortimfowler

I can’t remember feeling as crappy, emotionally, as I did yesterday and even some today, since Abby died. I keep thinking, but she was just a dog. But, I loved her and wanted the best for her and spent 12 years of my life taking care of her. Before I forget, thanks to all those who said kind words, I at least know I am not crazy (no wise cracks needed).
I told my neighbor about Abby and he said that he knew how I must feel, because He had said goodbye to several dogs in his 80 years. That really made me think.
Dogs lives are much shorter than ours. It is not uncommon to own several dogs in our lifetime and each one of them we can love and get very attached too. Because I still have another dog, I don’t think I will get another one for a while. But one day, I think I would like too. So why do we put ourselves through this if we know the hurt that comes from losing something we love and know that chances are we will feel that hurt again?
As I was driving to the church this morning I was thinking about this and God gave me a wonderful thought. If I can love a dog as much as I did, how much more do you think I (God) love you? I was a bit overwhelming. But think of the similarities. God knows that we are going to die before He does; He is eternal. God knows that we are totally dependent on Him and His provision. God knows that we are going to get into the trash and occasionally make other messes. But He continually lets others be born and born again and loves us despite us being “just humans”.
He loves us so much that He accepts us and makes a way for us to know Him and His love and expects very little from us. I believe that He knows that pain of death, after all, Jesus died a real physical death for us. And, let’s not forget that Jesus wept at the death of His friend Lazarus. So I am thinking that it is okay feel so sucky about Abby dying. But I get a lifetime of memories and 12 years of experience of loving something who only loved me because I first loved her.
Love is a wonderful thing to experience, especially when it is unconditional. God’s love is unconditional and He knows our pain. But better yet, He knows that death is not the end. As for dogs, I don’t what happens after they die. Something tells me I don’t have to worry, God has that in control too. So I will lean toward thinking Abby is looking out the window of heaven waiting for me to come home, just as she did everyday while she was here.
I am very grateful for God’s love and that He let me in on this little secret; If you give love away, you will never be sorry that you didn’t.

One Comment to “Just A Footnote”

  1. Reading about Abbey made me think about the dogs I have lost and the (almost) three year old mini-chichiauhau I now have/ I have loved and love thiose/this dog so much, my only daughter, at times, is jealous! I have to laugh at her when her green eyes come through those pretty browns because there is no competition, besides God, for her to worry about. For a long time I put God at the bottom of the list and I would go months without even giving Him a thought.

    I am happy to say that I don’t think I even have a thought that does not involve Him and I don’t remember how it got that way. For the past few years, He has been number ONE in my life and I would not have it any other way. I find so much comfort in Him and I will never forget the day I finally realized I LOVE Him. I thought I was not capable because I could not feel Him in my heart. I only was a “head” or “mind” Christian. I knew He was real and I believed He sacrificed His Son for us, but I could not get it into my heart for quite a few years. The day it happened it came on me after reading something a friend had sent meabout His mercy and grace. Although it may not have been touching to anyone else because it was not a knockdown, jawdropping story, but, I cried, almost uncontrollably for almost an hour and then off and on all day. Cleansing tears of joy that I never felt for anyone.ekse ever!

    My gratitude for my church and church family is boundless. When the youths of this church led me here, I felt like I had just found a long lost brother or sister. Thank you, God, for your wisdom and the way you used these youths.

Leave a Reply

