Filipino Jesus

by pastortimfowler

Bibles Purchased by The Body

My friend from the Philippines is going to try to come to the states in a couple of weeks. He has to come here every few years to try to raise money for his ministry. He starts churches in his area and then trains leaders how to keep the church functioning. This is his full-time calling and it is quite demanding. In the Philippines it is difficult to fund such a ministry and that is why he comes here. Churches here are rich in comparison. He is looking to get monthly commitments from local churches for a total of $500 per month. It doesn’t sound like much, but he can make things go a long way. I would love to see that amount be at least doubled.
This is a guy who sacrifices a lot to see that his people hear about Jesus. If you are reading this and you are not a believer, don’t tune me out. Preaching Jesus is not as narrow as many want to make it. Jesus taught that people that we should love each other and give to help others. He taught that when even strangers are in need that we should help them. Jesus taught that it is important to work and plan and save for tough times. He taught that we should be more concerned with others well-being than our own comfort. I don’t care what your beliefs are, that is pretty noble, and that is what my friend does day in and day out.
I did not mention that he will be here for several months. He is leaving his wife and kids behind so that he can help others. As I prepare to go to Cuba next week for only 7 days, I am having some concerns about my wife being here without me. I have been in the Navy and experienced extended separations and it is never easy. But to choose to do it so that you can help people who you barely know is quite amazing.
Antonio, my friend, will be at my church, The Body, in Rock Hill SC on Sunday morning, August 5, at 10:30 am. If you are near, you should come and meet him. He is a soft-spoken guy with a heart of gold. You can hear of his challenges to help the people of the Philippines. He will share his reasons for all that he is called to do and yes, he will be asking for financial support. I am sure that our church will be doing our part and I have already personally been helping and will continue to do so. I would never ask people to do what I would not.
If you want to help, I know that he would appreciate it. Perhaps you can’t make it here to meet him, so you could make a contribution through our church website, http://www.thebodylive.com. Be sure to mark it for Antonio Ner. Another way to help would be to send him a friend request on Facebook. He can be found under the name Antonio Edgardo Garchitoreno Ner. You can see pictures of his homeland and follow his ministry as well as chat with him and ask how you can help.
I have often heard people in the states arguing over what color Jesus was. Was He black, white, olive completion? I think if the goal of a Christian is to be like Jesus and represent Jesus to those who don’t yet know him, and if you were to meet Antonio, you would say that Jesus just might be Filipino.

Leave a Reply

