What I Did This Weekend

by pastortimfowler

When I was in the second and third grade I had to write a full-page about what I did over the weekend every Monday. I was usually very busy on the weekend as a kid, so it took the full-page. I don’t know why this was on my mind, but I thought I would share some things I did this weekend with you.
We had our youngest grandson, Bryson, over the weekend. He is somewhere between 1 and 12 months old. I think it is closer to 9 months, but I wanted to be safe with my guess. He has teeth now and bites. He likes to pinch and pull arm hair. He likes to scoot across the floor and turn over the dog’s water dish. He likes to wake up and cry and have Mimi come get him and sleep in my bed. So this weekend, I got bit, pinched, cleaned up water, and slept on the couch.
My wife has a room full of stuff that is too important to throw away. I really don’t know what it all is, but when I suggest throwing it away, she gets less than friendly with me. No one uses this room, I think it has something to do with the fact that it is full of stuff, but it was just a spare room. Some of my stuff, mainly tools, like three large boxes full, were in this room. So while I was gone to a meeting that ended up being on another day ’cause someone didn’t read the text message completely, my wife cleaned out some of the stuff in this room. When I came home from my “meeting” I found all of my tools in the hallway. So I spent my weekend moving my tools to shelves on the back porch.
Sunday was church day. As a pastor, it is hard for me to miss church without someone getting upset. But I love my church and my job and preaching. Before church I had to go to the local radio station for a friend of mine’s radio program. I was the special guest. I knew that I was special and it took going on the radio to have someone call me that. Sadly, his show is at 7:30am. As I told you earlier, I spent some of my weekend sleeping on the couch, if you can call it sleeping. So getting up early was wonderful. But the radio gig went really well and I had a blast. I was told that I looked extremely handsome on radio.
After that, I went to my church and preached about God calling us to do something special. I used the story of Moses meeting God in the burning bush. We had a full church and many new faces and 5 people got saved. After church we went on a motorcycle ride and ate at a greasy burger joint. Man, it was good. Especially since my wife has me eating leaves and lean meat most of the time. Then back to church that evening for a new teaching about the life of the Apostle Paul. During the morning time I challenged people to quit complaining about Monday and some actually listened, at least on Facebook their posts were positive. So I spent my weekend telling people what to do and some actually listened to me.
It was a great weekend! I love my church, my family, and my God!

One Comment to “What I Did This Weekend”

  1. Loved this! I was laughing at most of it but the best part is loving your god ,Church , and faimly. I know it’s not in the same order you put it in but you know what I ment. Pastor Tim I look up to you and I hope you know what it means to us my family to walk into church and see the smile of your wife and you 😉

Leave a Reply

