Cuba Update

by pastortimfowler

 

We just got our flight information for our mission trip to Cuba in June. We will be flying out of Miami to Havana and back. This leaves me trying to decide on should I drive or fly to Miami. But at least I know the trip is starting to become more real. I wish that there was a way to express how excited I am to get to go back to Cuba. It is a wonderful place to visit and do ministry.
Since my last blog about this, I have been raising money for the trip. I am trying to raise $2000 and have reached a little over the half way mark. Now that I have to include a trip to Miami in there I am thinking that $2000 is going to cut it close, but I know that money will not hinder me from going. So many people have reached out with donations and helped with fundraisers that I have been blown away by their support. We have already had one car wash and plan on another in a few weeks. My church has been the best at helping to coordinate and work these fundraisers and I am very thankful to them. My associate pastor was also accepted to go on this trip after my last blog so we are splitting the funds from car-washes and the sort. Many of you who read my blogs have given and I am grateful there too.
About 8 years ago I was able to go to Cuba with a friend of mine who has recently died. He loved the Cuban people and went there often leading mission trips. My wife went the year before I did with a group that he led and then the next year I had to go. We both quickly found out why he loved going there. To this day we stay in touch via Facebook with some of the people that we met. I don’t know if I will get to see any of them this time, but I sure hope so. I do believe that I will meet others to whom I will form a bond with and hopefully stay in touch. I can’t wait for my associate pastor to be blown away by this experience. He has a wonderful heart for people and I know he will feel a special tug at his heart for the Cuban people and church.
There is always the element of the unknown when you take a trip like this that leaves you with a bit of anxiety. It is not fear and nothing that I am worried about. My last trip was a blast but did provide several times of wondering how things would work out. My main piece of luggage never made it to Cuba. I spent a week with what I carried on the plane. Luckily, I was smart enough to pack most of what I needed in my carry on. Then we had hiccups with our visas and our flight out of Cuba. Probably the worst part was in Nassau, when we got there at 1am and the airport was closed and we had to find a hotel to stay the night, then find a flight home the next day. But it all worked out to where now it is a great story to tell on this trip down there.
Thanks for the prayers and thanks for the donations. You can still give via our church website, www.thebodylive.com, note Pastor Tim, Cuba trip. I look forward to telling some great stories when I get back and will try to continue to give updates as or if needed before we go.

Leave a Reply

