Dogs and Sonar

by pastortimfowler

 

The city we live in is going through our neighborhood and getting rid of the above ground utilities and putting everything underground. For the last few weeks they have had our road down to a one lane road most of the day. Yesterday they were drilling under our yard and I just happened to be home when they started. There was a guy who had a portable sonar that he was using to detect water and sewage lines so that they did not drill through them as they buried the power lines. As he was walking toward our fence, our dogs began to bark and so I went outside to assist. The guy told me that he needed to walk through our yard to monitor the drilling and asked if the dogs would bite. I quickly said yes, but not if I am here. So I stood there as he slowly walked, following this drill that no one else could see. And he could only see what his instrument said was there, but he seemed to trust it.
I was in the Navy for 9 years and I understand sonar. It uses sound waves find objects that are either under water or under ground or in some cases, in a belly. It always amazes me how clear and detailed the pictures that can be gotten from using sonar. If you have ever seen the face of a baby in the mother’s womb, you are familiar with what I am talking about. But for whatever reason I was not confident in the device, especially as they were getting to close to my water and sewage lines.
Needless to say, my concerns were short-lived and they passed under our lines with no problems. My dogs held true to my statement that they would not bite while I was there and we still have a few more weeks of a one lane road. In the end we will not have poles with power lines running up and down our road and I am sure that everyone will be thrilled with that.
This morning I was thinking about this and it reminded me of this verse from the Bible: 1 Samuel 16:7 But the LORD told Samuel, “Don’t look at his appearance or how tall he is, because I have rejected him. God does not see as humans see. Humans look at outward appearances, but the LORD looks into the heart.” So many times we think that what we feel can’t be seen by anyone, but that is not true. God has the ability to see our hearts. No, I am not talking about our physical heart, but that part of every human that desires to know that someone cares.
We spend our lives in search of someone who cares about us. We want someone to understand who we are and what we are feeling. Often we find a friend or a family member who understands us and sympathizes and we feel comforted. But sometimes we feel as if no one is there that can truly know what we are going through. I believe that God has put that feeling inside of us in hopes that we will turn to Him. He can understand because He can see our hearts.
God uses many ways to try to reach out to people. He uses His people, but people often fail. He uses nature, the old theory that says that where there is a creation there must be a creator. But we are often to busy to see the obvious. But then that is the heart and the heart cannot be denied. Something deep inside that says that there has to be more than this.
My old mentor use to say that God calls and we often turn and walk away, so when all else fails, He will put us flat on our backs so that we have no other choice but to look up. Of course those who look at things as half empty will say that God is cruel to let someone get that low. But knowing what we all know about human nature, we are stubborn and hard-headed, sometimes people who love us have to yell scream and eventually grab us and shake us to get our attention and they do it because they love us. God loves us more.
Not being able to see God makes it difficult to trust God. I could not see the water and sewer lines running under my yard. I had an idea that they were there and knew the general location but they were deep inside the ground. Someone with a power that I did not have, was able to clearly see what I could not and understand my concerns, and control the situation to help me feel better about something that I didn’t even tell them was bothering me.
Because God can see the hearts, He is able to do things that no one else can. He can guide us through the troubled times and make what is on the inside that worries us become nothing but a story of how He fixed what we could not. But there is something that could have changed it all.
Remember the dogs. Like a mail carrier, this guy could have chosen to not come in my yard because of the dogs and the whole thing would have been delayed. Sure, eventually they would have caught me at home, probably by leaving a note on the fence telling me of the situation, but that would have made the other problem of a one lane road go on longer. Sometimes we have dogs to protect us and that is okay, but when that protection becomes a hindrance to someone who can help us with a problem that the dogs can’t prevent, we need to make the right decision to call off the defenses and let that person in. So stop letting the dogs out every time that God wants to help and let Him in. You can keep the dogs, but don’t let the dogs keep you from meeting a God who only wants to help.

Leave a Reply

