5 Thing I Try to Act Like I Believe

by pastortimfowler

Being a pastor is an amazing life of impossible situations made possible by God. I wish that all Christians could have the experience of spending a week in my shoes. No matter how awesome I think I am, and I know many of you agree with me, I am constantly facing challenges that need a supernatural intervention and I am never left disappointed. I don’t want to come across as some sort of spiritual super guy, but rather a guy that has learned through years of trial and error about how faith really works. My church must get tired of hearing about my faith and their faith in chairs, but you have to admit,it is a brilliant analogy. We sit in chairs because we have faith in chairs.
Faith is not what you believe, it is what you do because you believe. The New Testament book of James says that faith without doing something with it is dead. It means that if all we do is tell people that we believe but never act like it, then there is no real faith and nothing for others to believe in.
Situations are constantly presenting themselves to me in a way that I have to act before I can fully weigh the consequences and often they go against conventional thinking. But what I have learned through the years is that God can fix my mistakes better than He can deal with my lack of actions. I don’t underestimate God’s ability to guide my actions to accomplish His will. He can stop me from screwing up just as easily as He can give me success in doing something right. But if I refuse to do anything because I don’t believe God, there is nothing going to happen, for sure.
Here are 5 things I believe and try to always act like I believe:
1. Isaiah 55:9 “Just as the heavens are higher than the earth, so my ways are higher than your ways, and my thoughts are higher than your thoughts.”
I don’t understand everything, but I don’t have too. God understands everything and I want to act like I believe that.
2. Isaiah 55:11 My word, which comes from my mouth, is like the rain and snow. It will not come back to me without results. It will accomplish whatever I want and achieve whatever I send it to do. God’s word is what is powerful, not mine. Even if people say they don’t believe, God will handle that, I don’t have too.
3. Hebrews 13:5 Be happy with what you have because God has said, “I will never abandon you or leave you.” I am not alone. If I am doing what God says for me to do, even if no one else is with me, He is.
4. Philippians 4:13 I can do everything through Christ who strengthens me. Nothing is impossible when you trust in the truth and do it. NOTHING. Not acting because it feels impossible is denying the power God.
5. 1 John 4:16 We have known and believed that God loves us. God is love. Those who live in God’s love live in God, and God lives in them. Not only does God love me, but HE IS LOVE. Love is a far greater motivator to action than fear.
1 Corinthians 13:4-7
4 Love is patient. Love is kind. Love isn’t jealous. It doesn’t sing its own praises. It isn’t arrogant.
5 It isn’t rude. It doesn’t think about itself. It isn’t irritable. It doesn’t keep track of wrongs.
6 It isn’t happy when injustice is done, but it is happy with the truth.
7 Love never stops being patient, never stops believing, never stops hoping, never gives up.

Leave a Reply

