Warm Weather

by pastortimfowler

Today in my neck of the woods it is a beautiful 80 degrees and sunny. Not bad for mid March in the south. There are all kinds of things that start happening as the warm weather begins. Today I am cutting the clover and onions and the patches of grass that are sprouting up. I really don’t mind cutting grass. It is a great time to not have to answer the phone if it rings and to do some thinking and praying. Most of the prayers end up asking God to eventually kill the grass and things that grow in my yard and replace them with cement.
After the grass is cut I am going to spray the weeds that grow through the concrete and pavement, reminding me that even if God answered my prayer, I would still have to cut grass and weeds. I have places in my yard where I have planted grass seed and fertilized the soil and watered it regularly and still have no grass. But everywhere I have cement or pavement, grass grows through it. I guess that I should just enjoy the time of no phone calls.
Next I will be spreading granules that are supposed to stop fire-ants and other bugs like fleas from taking over the yard. They work to keep the bugs down, but certainly don’t keep them away for the whole season. I already have more fire ant hills than I can count, so I have to treat them too with a fast acting granule. As I walk through the yard spreading this stuff I have to dodge bees. I don’t like bees and sadly there is not a spray for them that I can use to keep them away. While I am sitting on my back porch typing out this blog, I have had 3 wasps land on my leg and 4 bumble bees break the sound barrier as they flew past my head. So far I have not seen my worst enemy, the yellow jacket. Of all the creatures that God made, I dislike them the most.
If and when I get all this done I am going to get the motorcycle out and clean it up. Riding it for the first time in a few months is always exciting. I can enjoy the breeze in my face and the pollen being forced up my nose and if I am really lucky take out a few bees with my windshield. For some reason bugs have a way of finding their way around it to hit me in the arms, legs, and face. I don’t really mind because I enjoy the ride far too much to let little things like that bother me.
Warm weather always makes me glad that I live in the south. While so much of the country can still see snow or cold, we get to say good-bye to it a few weeks earlier. That means I can work on my farmer’s tan and get the sunburn out-of-the-way. Soon the wife will be laying out in her beach attire dreaming of the ocean and the sand and I get to enjoy the view! I love warm weather!
Now back to the yard work.

One Comment to “Warm Weather”

  1. You are indeed blessed it’s raining in washington and we had snow yesterday.

Leave a Reply

