Crash

by pastortimfowler

Today I got to experience something that I have never done before. I spun out my truck on the interstate doing 65 mph. I am fine. My truck is beat up, but drivable, and I have insurance to cover any damages. I did take out about 100 yards of fence and a small tree, they did not survive. This was the result of a sudden lane change by a truck and wet roads that cause me to start spinning when I stomped on my brakes. I do not recommend this to anyone, even though is was quite the adrenalin rush.
What was the most shocking of all is the fact that no one stopped to see if I was okay. I am, and I did not even need help getting back on the road, but there were at least a few other cars in the general area that this happened including the truck who ran me off the road. It was just weird that no one even pulled over to yell out the window at me. I expected someone to maybe stop and yell out a score for the spin moves that I did quite effortlessly. But no, not even a score for style points or difficulty factor.
Tomorrow I have an appointment with the insurance adjuster to access the damage. Although my truck is drivable, there is damage on every side. The passenger side door is warped and the side-view mirror on that side is busted. The rear quarter-panel is dented and scratched as well as the roof, from barbed wire that flew around from the fence I took out. The rear bumper is bent and the back up sensor is damaged. That bothers me because I like hearing the beeping as I get close to something. Both of my tail lights are out, one worse than other. The driver’s side has scratches and the front bumper is dented. So, like I said, it is damaged on every side.
Through all of this, I can’t forget the fact that no one was injured. There were vehicles all around me as I started spinning. I had just crossed under a bridge that could have caused some real damage to me and the truck if I had spun into it. A few miles back I crossed over a river, and that would have been cold, not to mention that I did not have a fishing rod with me. I can only thank God that He was looking out for me and although I am ready to die, I was not expecting it yet. I do have a vacation planned in a couple of weeks.
On another note, if I had gone off the road and been stuck for days before being found, I do have everything that I need to survive. I have an emergency kit that includes a flashlight, emergency blanket, and first aid kit. I have a couple of knives, a lighter and one of those magnesium and flint combos so I can start a fire and purify water or cook a meal. I even had my laptop that, by the way, did not even fall off the seat during the crash. That way I could have at least continued to blog. No, I couldn’t post right a way, but at least I could post them after I was rescued or found my way back to civilization. And if anyone doubts my survival skills, I am an avid watcher of most of the survival shows on the National Geographic Channel.
Now that I have checked this experience off my bucket list, I would really like to work on the next item, taking a cruise with my wife.

One Comment to “Crash”

  1. Very grateful to God and for you that it was not any worse. I too could have died in a really bad wreck and God saved me. I know your wife, family and church are thankful to God that you are ok, the truck is replaceable, I had to learn that fact the hard way about cars. I LOVED my Chevy Cavalier it was a two door and had a sunroof, but God taught me real quick what was important and it wasn’t the car. Thank God you survived and that the truck is drivable. Praying it all works out and enjoy the cruise.

Leave a Reply

