Thanksgiving

by pastortimfowler

I am not an expert on the origins of the Thanksgiving holiday in America nor do I want to be. I know what I was taught in school when I was a kid, and I know some of the stuff that is being taught now and I also know that there is a lot of controversy over who is right and who is wrong. My concern is that we have lost focus on the purpose of it all together, to give thanks for what we have. Not only to give thanks, but to thank the one who provides us with all we have, God.
It is a holiday that is a challenge for people who don’t believe in God. I can understand the anger and frustration because to be thankful, you must know who you are thanking. You can’t be thankful to no one and it is really narcissistic to thankful to yourself. We don’t have food, air, life, liberty, or family because of government, or because of what we do, it is because there is a God who loves us. Don’t be hate’n if you disagree, be thankful for a great country that allows you the freedom to disagree. Oh yeah, if you don’t believe, you don’t know who to thank…never mind. So for this blog, I will concede to those who want to thank themselves.
At least if you don’t believe in God you can pretend to be grateful to someone. Isn’t it nice to have freedom, family, health, food, and air to breath. I know us humans are doing our best to destroy the perfect air of nature, which God created, but some of you are trying hard to save the planet, so be thankful for that. Stop trying to ruin my Thanksgiving because you are miserable. Pretend that everything is the result of human actions whether it is good or bad and be thankful. If I want to thank a God that you don’t believe in, let me do it and I will be fine if you thank, uh, what ever.
There is no perfect world. If we all focus on what is wrong, we will all be miserable. Why not call a time out this Thanksgiving and focus on only what you are thankful for, not what I am doing that you consider wrong. Thank whoever or whatever you want, even yourself. Tell yourself how grateful you are for what you are doing and let me thank God for what He has done and is doing. When we have a national holiday to gripe and complain and point fingers at everyone that we disagree with, I promise to participate and not be thankful anything anyone else is doing, but for now, we don’t have that and we do have Thanksgiving so be THANKFUL!
Happy Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

