Longing For The Days of Old

by pastortimfowler

If you are not a football fan like I am, don’t give up on this blog yet. If you are a football fan like I am, then you will understand what I am about to say. I long for the days of old. I think football is getting too soft. I saw more penalties this weekend for what use to be a good, hard hit, and now the guys have no idea how to tackle someone for fear of losing yardage to those penalties. Football use to be a sport of real men, somewhat of the gladiator type. Now it seems to be driven by the political correctness crowd. And that is what bothers me the most.
Political correctness, the love of money, and personal motives, seems to drive everything that we do today. It is rare that you see an individual whose motives are not driven by those things. Even the news that we see on TV has become political and money driven. I have no problem with anyone who makes money from hard work or creative ideas. I do have a problem when they make money off twisted truths and the less fortunate.
So that brings me to the story of Penn State University and what happened to one of the football coaches. If you haven’t heard, you have not looked at any news outlet, because this has been all over the place. But there was an assistant coach who was caught performing lewd sexual acts on a young boy. He was not just accused, but was actually seen as he was molesting a young boy in the showers of the players locker room. This is the stuff that makes me long for the good old days.
There was a time when if a person like this was caught, they were considered lucky if they made it to trial. Someone would have taken justice into their own hands and this man would never touch a little boy again. Sure, there are those who will argue for the legal system to work, but I somehow like the thoughts of someone “manning up” and handling the problem. I am not talking about sitting around plotting a crime, I am talking about taking swift immediate actions to protect a child, not a football program. I would like to think that had I walked in on this crime that I would have been able to ask forgiveness for beating this man to a bloody pulp. And what about the other coaches and the 300 pound football players? Couldn’t they have made sure that this pervert, “slipped on a bar of soap”?
Instead, this man was allowed to continue to hurt innocent children for the sake of a football program. This is what I was talking about earlier with political or money, or selfish motivations that I see. There was a time when these things were not allowed to go unchecked. Someone would have made sure that this fellow did not hurt someone again.
I kept hearing the news report that the head coach did everything that was legally required of him and then they asked, but did he do all that was morally required. This is the same news media that despises God and does everything in their power to discredit God and His people. So I have to ask, if there is no God, where do morals come from? The only answer left is that they come from people. And if people make morals, then it is only subject to whose morals we want to follow. If I am the one making up the morals of society, I can make it perfectly fine to molest little children and who are yo to question me? After all, we shouldn’t judge, right?
But that is not where morals find there beginnings. Morals come from a Holy God, who by the way, finds molesting little children detestable, and His morals are placed inside decent humans who have a responsibility to protect innocent people. Maybe not by pounding such a pervert into a bloody pulp, but maybe by dragging his sorry butt out into the middle of the schoolyard and holding him down until the police come and take him away.
But no. We want to spend our time protecting football players from being hit too hard during an inherently physical and violent game. We want to make sure that an unprotected receiver doesn’t get hit too hard and if so, throw a penalty flag, while we let an unprotected little child get raped and the football program that provided the man who did a job, continues to a football program at all.
Sorry for the rant, but I am disgusted by this whole thing.

3 Comments to “Longing For The Days of Old”

  1. For evil to succeed is for good men to do nothing. I was working in a catholic school when the hundreds of unreported sexual abuses cases wihin the church became public. I was encouraged by some of the changes to protect children that were made such as FBI checks in addition to local checks for all, no one was excluded. I was upset that there still was a protocal when you suspected abuse. You were to tell your supervisor, who would contact the Diocese whose lawyers and PR people would get involved. I told my boss, no way! If I suspect abuse, I will call Child Protection immediately. In the time it takes to go thru the system a lot more abuse can occur. We have to fight for those who are powerless to fight for themselves. I really feel these victims need financial compensation for yrs of couseling and rehab they will need. God help these people.

  2. If anyone, then, knows the good they ought to do and doesn’t do it, it is sin for them.
    James 4:17

Leave a Reply

