Slacker

by pastortimfowler

I am preparing a Bible study for our Sunday nights that will take us through the 119th Psalm. As I am reading and studying, I am amazed at how unlike the Psalmist I am. This amazement is not always the good kind, but the kind that says, “I still have a long way to go”. One verse says “I eagerly pursue your commandments” and there are times when it is all I can do to stay focused on just doing a daily reading, much less eagerly study the Bible. The passion that is lacking in my life some days is scary.
Please don’t misunderstand what I am saying. I love God’s word and really do want to understand it and obey it, but I just fall way short sometimes. It is frustrating. I think of being a pastor and teaching the word to my church and encouraging people to love God and trust Him and to read the Bible and then I get these convictions. But I know this; my slack attitude doesn’t change God’s passion for me.
The reason that I am saying this is to hopefully encourage others who feel like they fall short of being the type of Christian that they think they should be. I personally think that this is a healthy feeling if you allow yourself to take action on it. It may sound funny that I am talking about being disappointed in one sentence and encouraged in the next, but conviction is a good thing. Too often we let conviction turn to disappointment and disappointment turns us from even trying. But if used properly, conviction can be a great motivator.
Later in the same Psalm it says this: This is my comfort in my misery, Your word gave me new life. Now if that don’t get your blood pumping, nothing will. Too often we focus on the negative and think of all that we have done wrong. Sure there is plenty, since compared to God, our best is like filth. But God’s promise is forgiveness to those who ask. This is total forgiveness of any and all that we ask for. He promises new life and new beginnings. If you have never received forgiveness and salvation, you ask and get a new start. My favorite verse in the Bible is this one: 2 Corinthians 5:17 Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new. What an amazing offer, a new start in exchange for total screw ups!
If you are already a Christian, no matter how many times you fall or turn away, God promises that He will never disown you, He will always forgive you and always love you! This is not conditional on how much we do for Him, but purely based on what He did for us in Christ dying for our sins. It is not based on how much or how often you read the Bible, but rather what the Bible says. That’s right, God’s promise doesn’t change or is not withdrawn just because we are slackers in reading it. Just remember that when we read it, we learn of God’s love for us and see how awesome He is.
This is going to be an exciting study. Psalm 119 is totally about God’s word. Every verse contains a reference to God’s word and there are amazing things that can be learned about it in this Psalm. The more we learn about God’s word, the more we will want to follow and believe God’s word and then the more God can show us His faithfulness and goodness in making His word come alive!

One Comment to “Slacker”

  1. “If you are already a Christian, no matter how many times you fall or turn away, God promises that He will never disown you, He will always forgive you and always love you! This is not conditional on how much we do for Him, but purely based on what He did for us in Christ dying for our sins.”
    Thank you, God!

Leave a Reply

