Save The World?

by pastortimfowler

I was sent a disturbing email today from a friend whose company is circulating a warning to its employees about the new light-bulbs and their dangers. The pictures that went with it were very graphic and showed a person’s foot that had been cut by a broken bulb and how the mercury in these bulbs caused massive damage to the foot. I have to be honest with you, I would rather have the earth warm up a half a degree over the next 50 years than to suffer this kind of damage from a light bulb breaking. But nobody questions the “green” people, ’cause they are saving the planet.
When are we going to stop having knee jerk reactions to “science” that is wishy-washy at best. Are you willing to cut down on CO2, which is produced by every air-breathing animal on the plant, far more than our cars produce, and is absorbed by plants, which in return give off oxygen, (remember real science?) in exchange for light bulbs that contain deadly mercury? How does this save the planet? We quit making thermometers that used mercury because there is no doubt that mercury kills, but save the planet, kill the foot lights are okay?!?!
What about the electric car? Has anyone thought of the dangers that are going to come from these? First, the hypocrisy. “Green” people have been telling us about the evils of plastic for a long time now. How it sits in landfills for thousands of years without breaking down. Here’s an idea, leave it out in the sun for a few months and watch in deteriorate. But these same people want us to use lots of large batteries that are housed in plastic to run our cars. What about the chemicals that are in these plastic laden batteries? You mean to tell me that they are safer than the bi-product of us exhaling? I can’t wait for the interstates to be shut down for days due to hazmat teams having to clean up toxic chemicals from the two electrics cars that are saving our planet. I just hope the wind doesn’t ever stop blowing or it never rains again so that the clean energy needed to charge these cars save us from the evil fossil fuels that are reliable and not as toxic as the light bulbs we are being forced to use.
I read where global warming was real. The scientist had determined that the average temp in Antarctica had risen 1.24 degrees over the last 40 years. The average summer temperature there is -17.5 degrees Fahrenheit. So if that is the adjusted temperature for global warming, ICE STILL DOESN’T MELT! And if the average temperature in your neck of the woods is 65, 75, or 85, what changes in your life if now it is 66.5, 76.5, or 86.5? The answer is…nothing.
My dad taught me as I was growing up not to litter, not to pour oil down the drain, and how to keep my car running at its peak efficiency. He made sure that if we went fishing or hunting or camping that we left the place cleaner than when we arrived. I don’t believe in being reckless with our planet, but also don’t believe that humans can destroy it, short of an all out nuclear war. The Bible says that the planet will be here until God decides to wrap it up, not man. I am going to trust God over the weird science of today that is often tied to political motivations and government grants, oh yeah, that goes back to political motivations.
Its time that we began to use our common sense and not be afraid to question something just because it is popular. I love the new light bulbs for the fact that they last a long time. I like being able to make pigs out of watermelons and using the light bulbs as the pig’s tail. I am just not willing to blindly say that it is a better bulb because someone who overlooked the dangerous mercury in them, tells me that it will save the planet. I am not going to buy a car that runs off electricity until someone tells me that it is okay to walk through the chemicals that will spill out if I am in a wreck that busts these planet saving plastic encased batteries, AND…they can prove to me that rechargeable batteries in my car are better than the ones that I just through away because they only lasted 10 minutes in my flashlight. I don’t want to drive my 100 miles on a charge to find out I can’t get home because the next charge only takes me 90 miles.
Think about it.

Leave a Reply

