I-Stuff

by pastortimfowler

Moving on from those inspiring talks about cremation, it was sad to hear about Steve Jobs losing his fight with cancer. In case you have been living in a crematorium or under a rock, Steve Jobs was the CEO of Apple and most people say that he was the inspiration for most of the really cool stuff that they put out. I don’t own an Apple, but that is only because I can barely turn on a computer and my wife only lets me play Angry Birds on her little I-pad looking thing.
I don’t know if Mr. Jobs was a Christian or not and that is not the point of this blog, but I do pray that his family and friends find peace that comes from knowing Jesus. What I do know about him was that he believed in something with all his heart. He believed in his company and his products from that company. I used to watch his speeches as Apple would launch a new I-pod, pad, or phone. He was the poster child for the “this is awesome” believer. As he described the new product and demonstrated its features, he was like a proud dad whose son just made the all-star team. He walked and talked with confidence and pride in what he was selling. He never apologized for it being too expensive, or to complicated, he only said, this is worth it and I believe in it.
If you watch the tech world, everyone seems to follow the Apple innovations. Everyone makes their version of the Ipod, Ipad, and Iphone. Everyone sees the greatness in the concept and the way it can make the consumer more in touch with people and business. I see people in Starbucks drinking their frappalattacreamochas and using their I-stuff and thinking that maybe I should get something besides this small coffee, black, and my HP laptop. Speaking of small coffee, the coffee monkey behind the counter at Starbucks got mad at me when I asked him to put the “tall” cup next to the other cups and show me why he could not understand that I wanted a small coffee, not a tall coffee. If your tall is the smallest cup, then call it a small…duh.
Anyway, my point in all this is that when you believe in something with all your heart and you act like you believe in it and you share that passion with others, it will make others desire what you have, or at least divert their thoughts from the tall or small argument long enough to notice you. You won’t have to put down the competition or even comment about them in order for people to follow you or what you believe in. Just be passionate and believe that what you have is worth whatever it costs and don’t apologize. People will pay more, sacrifice, or do whatever is needed to get something that is life changing and that someone else is truly passionate about.
Of course I will take this opportunity to say that Christians should think about this way of displaying their faith. If Steve Jobs were a Christian, and I don’t know either way, and he were talking about Jesus the same way he talked about I-stuff, and I were to hear him as someone with Jesus, I would at least check out Jesus because of his passion.
But you can apply this to anything you are doing and it will make a difference. There is enough bad attitudes and slandering in the world today and it only makes others feel as if they have to do the same to get by. I could care less if you ever bought any I-stuff, but I would love to see you get some of Steve Jobs’ attitude of I-believe. Rest in peace, Steve Jobs.

Leave a Reply

