Talking To Adam

by pastortimfowler

I have to stop taking requests for blog ideas. I get a lot of weird ideas that make me have to think and we all know what happens when I start thinking. Today I was asked to do a blog about who I would want to talk to out of the Bible and why. The only two people I could not choose are God and Jesus. I will assume that this also means the Holy Spirit and will forgive the disrespect to the Holy Trinity from my friend who probably wasn’t thinking.
After pondering this, and yes, I said pondering, I would choose Adam. I would choose Adam because he saw things that no man has ever seen, so let me blog a bit.
Adam was the first to see creation in its perfect state. I would love to have him tell me about the beauty of a world that had no flaws and no dangers. We think of untouched land as forests or jungles that are difficult to walk through but this was made with man in mind and nothing was a threat to Adam. There were no thorns or plants that would cause allergic reactions or if there were, they were not a bother to him ever. He didn’t have shoes, so the ground had to be very comfortable to walk on, because if you think about it, he didn’t have callused feet in the first few days.
Adam got to see every creature on earth and name them. I would love to hear his thought on the first time he saw a possum or an elephant. I know that he was looking for a companion and found none of the animals to be suitable, but I bet he was tempted to pick a couple. I would ask him which ones. Surely he could have had thoughts about hanging out with a grizzly bear or a lion for a while. How did he get the nerve to tell God, “Nah, none of them turn me on”?
I would really love to hear about that woman God gave him. I know that he did not know she was naked, he does now and I would love to ask him about her. She must have been a really hot chick. Before you get all uppity on me, remember that this was not my idea to blog about this and I am only being honest. This is hard to figure out how to say without someone taking it wrong but I will try. Sin has taken its toll on humanity. We are all now flawed because of sin. I think my wife is beautiful and she is flawed by sin. I bet Eve, who was not flawed by sin, was incredible looking. I want to hear about that from Adam. Then, I want to hear his reaction when he finally realized that she was naked. But I am a man and I can’t help myself.
Now that Adam has a had a few thousand years to think about it, I would love to talk to him about why they fell to the temptation. What did the fruit look like? What did it taste like? When did the sensation of knowing good and evil overtake them? Was it when the took the bite or did they have to chew it up and swallow it before they actually knew they had messed up? I can’t imagine being perfect and sinless one second and the very next second knowing you have sinned. And I would have to ask, did you try to take your time putting Eve’s leaves together after you knew she was naked? You know, did he tell her that the first one made her look fat, just so she would have to make another or did he keep “accidentally” tearing the leaves in just the right spots?
One thing I have always been curious about is time. Were they living in a place where time did not matter before they sinned? I know they had night and day, but when we become sinless, time won’t matter to us because we will be in heaven. He was created to live forever and I want to know what he thought about time before the sin. After the sin, did he feel like Eve was always making him late or did she not develop that until they had kids? And what about having the first kids in the whole world? Did you want to beat them? Did they start the whole back talking to parents thing?
But most of all I want to talk to him about God. I want to hear about their walks together and what kind of things did they talk about. What do you say to God about anything? I mean, did Adam look at God and pat Him on the butt and say “good job!” for creating the universe? Did he ask God what was he thinking when He made the duck-billed platypus? Did he talk to God about how hot Eve was?
Yep I would want to talk to Adam if I could.

Leave a Reply

