Back To School

by pastortimfowler

Summers are just not long enough for kids and those who love spending time with their kids. But it has come to that time where we send them off in their new clothes with their new books to learn new things. It is an exciting time and can be quite nerve-racking. Our little rug rats are growing up!
I remember when I was in elementary school. We use to have to walk to school in knee-deep snow and then walk home when the snow was even deeper. It was uphill both ways too. But while I was at school I knew that the teachers and principals were people who had the same basic values that my parents did. Basically they demanded respect, effort, and adhering to specific values. Those values were biblical and no one ever complained about it because biblical values are what our laws are based on and they promote hard work along with compassion.
My 1st grade teacher use to read us a Bible story every morning. I remember hearing about David and Goliath and Joshua shouting down the walls of Jericho and how God created the world that we know it. Later in the 3rd grade I had a teacher who use to teach us music and often we used hymns to help us learn to read notes. By the time I got to middle school, things were changing. Not much more than the curriculum was taught, but we still had that core value base that was in place.
I always knew that there was going to be consistency in what I was getting at school and what I was getting at home. My dad always said that if I got a whipping at school that I could expect one when I got home. Sounds tough, but it was true. Now we have parents suing schools for disciplining kids and then complaining when the kids don’t learn anything. And the last thing that your kids will hear in school these days is that God created the universe, much less the story of David and Goliath. Instead they are taught new stories about families with 2 mommies or 2 daddies and when they get to middle school they are taught how to use condoms and where to go if you need an abortion.
Still I hear the complaints from parents that their kids don’t want to come to church and don’t want to know God. They tell me that they don’t know how to overcome all the “science that disproves the Bible”. I hear about kids having sex at younger ages and doing drugs and drinking in their teens. Parents are frazzled.
Last night in a Bible study this subject of why kids have no respect for the things of the Bible came up. So I asked the 15 men present, how many of you read a Bible story to your children every day? How ’bout once a week?. The answer was, none of them. My next question was this; Then why would you expect the schools to do it? Followed by this one: Do your kids think God is real and important to Daddy?
You see we pitch a fit when our school takes God out of them, but the truth is, God is not in our own houses either. We only visit His house on Sunday. We complain about schools not allowing prayers but we never pray with our kids at home. We proudly wear our “Put God back in Schools” bumper stickers, but maybe we need to put Him back in our homes first.
Here is God’s idea to help our kids:
Deuteronomy 6:4-9
4 Listen, Israel: The Lord is our God. The Lord is the only God.
5 Love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your strength.
6 Take to heart these words that I give you today.
7 Repeat them to your children. Talk about them when you’re at home or away, when you lie down or get up.
8 {Write them down, and} tie them around your wrist, and wear them as headbands as a reminder.
9 Write them on the door frames of your houses and on your gates.
If we teach our children about God like this at home, we will have less worries about them wherever they go. But maybe, just maybe, then the kids will be the ones to take God back to school.

One Trackback to “Back To School”

Leave a Reply

