Addicted To Love

by pastortimfowler

This morning I woke up excited that my wife was coming home. She had been at my son’s house helping with the new baby. For those who have that moment of sympathy for her, don’t. She would rather spend time with the grandbabies than to breath. It is me that you should feel sorry for. While she was feeding her addiction, I was left with 2 dogs that are scared of storms and love to chase squirrels in the rain, then come and jump in my lap before I can dry them off.
Don’t misunderstand me. I am not complaining that she was gone, I am simply admitting that I was miserable while she was gone. I have decided that I am going to have her stuffed if she dies before me. I will also continue to record two shows at once on the DVR so that I am forced to watch whatever she wants, even when she is not here.
Our new grandson needed Mimi this weekend. He could not have made it much longer without her spoiling him. This is a common occurrence in our family. The only way that babies survive is through mother’s milk, parents providing shelter, and Mimi spoiling them. End of argument.
As I have gotten older and realized that the world is held together through the power of God and the spoiling of Mimi, I have also come to accept the occasional separations that come from having children who live in other cities. I am not sure what they were thinking when they moved to pursue jobs and did not consider the need of their children to have Mimi around, but thank goodness we have reliable vehicles and she can drive.
While she was gone I stayed busy with church work, tried to do a few things around the house, and watched it rain. There were a few things on TV that I thought I wanted to watch, but when the DVR had two things programmed to record at the same time you can only watch one of them, and they were not what I wanted to watch. When there was clear time for the TV I did get to watch the PGA Championship until the storm came through and the satellite signal could not be received. But since I couldn’t watch anything then, it was very entertaining to watch the dogs run in the rain.
But today my life gets back to normal. The wife is back and in just a little while I get to have lunch with her. I know that she looks forward to watching some of those recordings with me. I can’t wait. It is driving me crazy to not know what Stefano and Sammi are doing. Then tonight I will get to find out even more people who don’t have talent in America and solve a few murder mysteries too.
I guess I would rather watch stuff that I care nothing about, with her, than to watch my favorite sports without her. So maybe I really do understand why the kids are so addicted to her. I am too.

Leave a Reply

