What I did on my summer vacation

by pastortimfowler

Do you remember when you were a kid and you went back to school and had to write the report about “what I did on my summer vacation”? As a kid we did not take many real vacations. We rarely took a week to travel and that meant that my report included a lot of weird stuff that caused my friends to think that we were weird. I stayed very active during the summer and we did a lot of stuff but we just rarely traveled.
Now that I am all grown up, I like to travel for my vacations. Sometimes I take long trips and other times it is just down the road a ways. Since I have been married, we take our vacation in conjunction with our anniversary. Often it includes a road trip on the motorcycle, affectionately known as the Holy Kaw. We have been to Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Kentucky, West Virginia, Virginia, Washington DC, Ohio, Florida, Pennsylvania, New York, and Niagara Falls, Canada. Lately we have been less adventurous and road less, but still love taking parts of our vacation to put some miles on the Holy Kaw.
This year we took an RV and stayed at one of South Carolina’s beautiful state parks. Our camp site was beside a lake and had plenty of shade, which was greatly appreciated, because the temperatures were around 100 degrees each day. If you have never vacationed in an RV it is a great experience and you should try it. There are different levels of amenities for RVs and it just so happened that the one we were using was like a hotel on wheels. Roughing it was not an option.
So here is what I did on my summer vacation.
Day one: We drove to the park and unloaded all of our stuff. It was a lot. My wife packs more stuff for a week than I need for a month. My friend met us there with his boat and took us to watch some birds fly in for the night. By the time the sun was setting there were tens of thousands of birds flying around and it reminded me of a Hitchcock movie. We ate and laughed until we puked. (not really, no puking)
Day two: We went to WalMart to get the groceries and other essentials needed for a week in an RV. Prior to that we walked around the mall and looked for weird people who also walking around the mall. We came back and I drowned some worms and called it fishing while the wife read a book. Later I read a book. Its called relaxing.
Day three: Road the Holy Kaw to see some family and had lunch with our favorite daughter. That evening we celebrated our 31st wedding anniversary and my wife’s birthday by dining out. Yes, I married her on her birthday and no, I have never forgotten either.
Day four: We did nothing but read and fish, and I use the term fish lightly. Relaxing is the new chillin’.
Day five: We road the Holy Kaw to Florence to see our son and daughter-in-law and our soon to be born grandson. We took them out to lunch for a late celebration of there 5th wedding anniversary. When we got back to the RV we read some more and talked about how awesome God is to give us grandchildren.
Day six: I rode the Holy Kaw back home, exchanged it for our mini van and picked up Twitch, our oldest grandson, because Mimi was having gbaby withdrawals. We got back to the RV and went swimming, “fished”, and made Smores.
Day seven: Time to go home. Packed, hooked up the RV, but first a detour for me. As Mimi and Twitch went to a birthday party back home, I met a friend to go fishing and actually catch some fish. I did.  Vacation over…Sort of.
Day eight: We visited another church that Sunday morning. I had someone filling in for me and I love seeing what God is doing in other places. It was uplifting and I got to worship and hear a great message that challenged me to get back to work.  Vacation over! That is what I did on my summer vacation.

2 Comments to “What I did on my summer vacation”

  1. What an awesome vacation!

  2. Sounds like you had a good time.. glad you are back!

Leave a Reply

