Procrastination: No, Its Been Raining!

by pastortimfowler

Yesterday it rained very hard here. So hard in fact that water found ways into my house that normally don’t allow water in. In my living room, there was enough water that came in that I used every towel we had, and then remembered that I had a wet/dry vac. Funny how you forget what you have when there is an urgent situation happening, but when you are walking through Home Depot you think of every impossible situation in order to justify buying that new toy.
I have been talking for weeks about doing a few things around the house that I knew could cause some problems, but it is hard to do yard work when it seems to rain every afternoon. Throw in a sore back and a busy schedule and it adds up to Murphy’s Law at my house. And we have known from the day we bought this house that there were a few things that needed some attention.
We bought this house shortly after we moved up here 9 years ago. Our intention was to do a few things to it and then rent it out and buy a newer home. This one is very old and shows its age. So we never had a great sense of urgency to do a lot, and when you plan to do things bit by bit, something always seems to distract you until it rains really hard and you remember why you said the first thing you need to do is cut that tree and replace those windows.
Now that nine years have passed and fortunately this was one of the few disasters that we have had due to the age of the house, I am making a new list of priorities. We have grown to like the house, despite its age and flaws. It is small and easy to maintain, as long as we do the maintenance. But I will be getting rid of that tree and a few bushes. Thanks to the weather, I may get the roof replaced too. Those windows have got to be changed and now I think I will have some new flooring put in. While I am at it I need to paint, and put on some new siding, replace those doors on the closet, fixed that toilet that you have to jiggle, and my sidewalk needs a section replaced.
We have been using Dave Ramsey’s financial teaching on getting out of debt and managing our money. He says to save for things like this. So I am pretty sure I can afford to cut those bushes down and trim back that tree. I can afford a tube of caulk for that old window, and we never really use that closet door anyway. I do have a pretty good habit of jiggling the toilet and have never fell over that crack in the sidewalk. If the insurance covers the roof and I wait on the siding, and that floor isn’t that bad, I can get everything done in a few weeks, if it will just stop raining every afternoon.

Leave a Reply

