God Bless America!

by pastortimfowler

This is a long weekend for most people in America as we celebrate our nation’s birth and independence. I love our country and its people and love the meaning of this holiday. I also worry each year when the people I know travel and head to lakes and beaches and parties. I worry because this holiday also has a record number of injuries and deaths due to drinking and fireworks and crowded road and waterways.
I rarely travel or vacation during the 4th for those and other reasons. I like open water and roads and as I get older I dislike fireworks more and more. I try to drive during non-rush hours and if I go on a lake I like to do it during weekdays and non-holidays. I like to watch professional fireworks displays but have never been too impressed with the ones you spend a hundred bucks on from a roadside stand. Mine usually end up being far less than that the box promises.
All that said, I still love the 4th of July. I am thankful for our forefathers who sacrificed so much for our freedom and our country. I love thinking about the brave men and women who serve so bravely in the US Armed Forces to keep us safe and often sacrifice all for our country and its freedom. I love watching children spending time with families and the carefree times of vacation. I love seeing our flag flying high and proud on porches and business fronts. It is a beautiful flag and represents our beautiful country.
I will be taking a long weekend off from my blog. I will not be heading to the beach or to the lake, but rather enjoying a rare day off with my beautiful wife and will probably just relax around the house. Our vacation happens in a couple of weeks as we will be celebrating our anniversary and venturing out on the Holy Kaw. I will be observing and take mental notes for things to blog about as I take a break over the next few days and will be back at it on Tuesday, July 5th with something fresh to challenge you with.
Meanwhile, I hope that you have a great holiday. Please be safe on the roads and waterways. Watch out for those who drink too much and don’t have the common sense enough to not drive or operate a watercraft. Be careful if you use fireworks, although I find many duds, the ones that do go off can hurt. Use plenty of sunscreen and drink plenty of non alcoholic beverages to stay hydrated. Have fun and let kids be kids and enjoy this wonderful time. Take a few minutes to reflect and tell others about the meaning of this holiday and thank God for a country that is free.
God bless you and God bless America!

Leave a Reply

