2nd Hand Alcohol

by pastortimfowler

I went to see a friend’s mom in the hospital yesterday because she was in a really bad wreck over the weekend. Sadly, a drunk driver crossed the median of the interstate and hit her car causing it to roll over and sending her to the ICU via helicopter. Just a couple of days after being there, she was removed from ICU and put into a regular room as she continues to improve.
As I walked into the room, I was surprised to see that she had no facial injuries, not even a bruise. Her daughter was showing me the pictures of the car and how it was crushed, especially on the driver’s side and we were both amazed at how anyone could have survived this. But I believe God wrapped his hands around her and protected her from any worse injuries.
So my reason for writing this is total disgust that there is not more outrage in America about the effects of what I like to call 2nd hand alcohol. 2nd hand alcohol is directly and undeniably responsible for more injuries and deaths in this country, and probably the world than 2nd hand smoke will ever be. Yet goody two shoes, nose in everyone’s business, I wanna feel gooders, raise all kinds of stink about the effects of 2nd hand smoke, and to be honest, the evidence is questionable at best at the amount of harm it does.
Our government has put restriction after restriction on who can smoke and where they can smoke and who can be around you when they smoke. They raise taxes to unthinkable levels all to restrict a free society from doing something that is perfectly legal, all because they can give a lab rat cancer by exposing it to 4000 times the normal amount of smoke it could possibly receive from a cigarette. There has never been one proven case of cancer in a human from 2nd hand smoke.
This is where I need to say that I don’t smoke cigarettes and don’t encourage anyone to smoke them. I am simply saying that if it is legal and you have to work that hard to show the dangers to others, perhaps it isn’t as dangerous as some would like it to be. BUT!!!
Alcohol kills others. No if, ands, or butts, about it, people die from the effects of others drinking. If they don’t die they end up in ICU’s with families worried sick about their loved one and wondering how and when they will make a full recovery. Alcohol causes more domestic violence than smoking, more automobile wrecks than smoking, and even causes more house fires than smoking. But I would not be surprised to see alcohol served at the meetings of the holier than thou bureaucrats who talk about the dangers of 2nd hand smoke.
If we are going to get serious about protecting our citizens, we need to stop trying to prove our pet peeves and start dealing with facts, like them or not. 2nd hand alcohol is the reason for my parents divorce, and they both smoked. 2nd hand alcohol was the reason I became an alcoholic at a young age and nearly ruined my marriage. 2nd hand alcohol was the reason for approximately 10000 deaths on our highways this year. More women and children are physically abused each month through 2nd hand alcohol than ever through 2nd hand smoke.
Sure alcohol is legal and I have no problem with someone who drinks and remains in control. The problem is that there is a fine line between you controlling alcohol and it controlling you. I have never been called to the hospital to visit a person who was hurt by a smoker, although I can picture a few scenarios in which that can happen. But I have been and continue to be called to comfort people who have been killed or injured by a drunk.
I pray for those who are enslaved to alcohol. If you or someone you know is abusing alcohol, get help. I am so glad that my friends mom is not dead and should make a full recovery. But her life and her family’s life weren’t the only ones ruined. There is a young man sitting in jail who will have to live with this the rest of his life. It was his 2nd hand alcohol that did the damage to my friend’s life.

2 Comments to “2nd Hand Alcohol”

  1. LOVE LOVE LOVE this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! My personal opinion is that there should be some sort of restrictions and/or bans put on smoking, alcohol and stupidity…all serious epidemics in our world. Ironically, they all tend to go together, too. 🙂

  2. thank you, this needs to be said

Leave a Reply

