Rescue Squad

by pastortimfowler

Today and tomorrow the Rock Hill, SC Rescue Squad is selling BBQ at our church, The Body, A Church for Anybody, 2115 Ebenezer Rd, Rock Hill SC, 29732. I put the whole address for two reasons. You can send a contribution to THEM via us, because they do awesome work, or you can send our church a contribution because we do awesome work. (Pretty shameless, huh?)
These guys and gals are all volunteers and put their lives on the line every time they are called. They are the ones who cut you from a car, pull you from a lake or river, or at least yell at you to not do that if you are about to do something stupid. The latter is not part of their training but just a courtesy. Their funding for the equipment that they use is from fund-raisers and grants and donations and they spend countless hours training in miserable conditions just because they love to help people.
I have a personal interest in them because many of the volunteers go to my church. Because of that, I have great pride in knowing that they fulfill many of Jesus’ teachings each time they answer a call. They are servants and they lay their life on the line for not just friends, but complete strangers. Many times they leave their own families to help others, no matter the time of day or the type of weather, and rarely do they complain.
I know that many towns like ours have the same type of volunteers who do the same things. If you don’t have a paid government-funded group, there is almost always a volunteer group to pick up the slack. Support them!
I know that I have used the word volunteer a lot already, but I want that to be emphasized. I will never take away from the heroic people who get paid to keep us safe, but these folks are very special. And just because they don’t get paid does not mean that they are not professional in every aspect of their operations.
I just wanted to take a minute to say thanks to them. To tell everyone that the BBQ is delicious and worth every penny. Your donation is still needed and welcomed. You can have peace knowing that highly trained men and women respond when needed. And they deserve our respect and appreciation.
I do not know if all of them know Jesus as their personal Savior. I sure hope so. But I do know that every one else who does call themselves Christians can learn from their selflessness and servant’s heart. Jesus said specifically that the greatest among us would be the servants. Rock Hill Rescue Squad has GREAT PEOPLE! Thanks for all you do!!!

One Comment to “Rescue Squad”

  1. Thanks Pastor Tim for recognizing this group of people. I have had an opportunity to be a part of this group, and while i am not a current member they are still family to me. I know the hard work and dedication that they put into the training and rescue operations. Any and all donations go to a worthy cause.

Leave a comment