Why I Blog About You

by pastortimfowler

I almost feel like I need to put a disclaimer at the beginning or end of my blogs. (This blog contains random ramblings from deep within the mind of the writer. His views and opinions have been the same for years and are not meant to personally attack any individual or get you to change your opinions. He has not and probably will not change his views and opinions based on anything you or anyone else says. If you are offended by any of the views or opinions in this blog, please check and see if your personal sensitivity switch needs to be adjusted to a safer level.)
I love to take a subject and make fun of it. About the only time that I don’t is when dealing with the Bible, and even then I find humor a useful way of teaching. As I am writing this, I can think of at least three people who are already thinking that I am writing this because of them. But I assure you, about the only person that knows me, who gets it personally from me, in a blog or a sermon, is my favorite wife, and she is use to it. Also, you must know that if I pick on you I love you or I think your are stupid. Either way you should feel privileged that you think that I was thinking of you in my blog.
I think we get offended too easily in America. Honestly, I don’t think most people really get offended at all. I think they use the word offended to make other people feel bad because they are weak-minded and thin-skinned. Hurting someone’s feelings these days is easier than breathing. My dad use to tell me that if I got my feelings hurt, I shouldn’t have had them out there for some someone to mess with anyway.
Lately I have been using the phrase, “different is not wrong” a lot. But in our society today, if someone or something is different from what we want, or feel, or think, we get angry, and that makes me mad. (Humor. Get it?) People get offended if I try to cram my faith down their throats, but I am expected to be tolerant of every other belief that wants to ruin my faith. Trust me, if Jesus would have given the option of cramming my belief down someone’s throat, I would be purchasing many more Bibles for some folks that I know to eat.
I respect the differences of others. I am not offended at someone who believes differently or lives their lives differently. I am not going to let someone, even if I know that they are wrong, ruin my day because it is not the same belief as mine. (My wife is excluded from this statement)
Here is a list of things that I have always been passionate about and will not change my mind and may have or may in the future blog about. I am doing this so that you can prepare yourself way ahead of time or know that I did not decide to write something because of your beliefs. This is not a complete list.
1. There is only one true God, the God of the Bible.
2. Salvation is not something you can lose.
3. JoAnne is a hot blond and my favorite wife.
4. Traditions ruin Churches.
5. DRIVE THE SPEED LIMIT
6. Dogs are better than cats
7. You can’t fall out of love
8. Reality TV is not real
9. The truth is not changed by your interpretation
10. If you are paying for it, it is about the money.
11. God said, kill it and eat it.
12. Going green is over exaggerated as the answer to global warming.
13. Global warming is bogus. “Climate change” is the way of admitting they were wrong about it.
14. I am not irresponsible because of anything I said above.
15. I did not offend you, you choose to read my blog, and I thank you.
I hope your day is filled with thoughts of why I blog about you.

One Comment to “Why I Blog About You”

  1. For the record…as I’m sure that I’m being viewed (by whomever) as one of your readers with an imbalanced sensitivity switch, weak-minded or thin-skinned. I can assure you (whomever) that that is not me…for one, I’m not that self-involved….two, sometimes the reaction can be misunderstood, just as the read itself can be.

    Yesterdays blog didn’t get me ’worked up’ (I can only speak for myself) because I thought you were targeting ME (again, I‘m not that self-involved or even that sensitive), but because the truth of the food world is a passion for me, and though the point of your blogs are to lead to a lesson about God/Jesus/religion/etc…the prelude to yesterdays lesson was….well, it didn’t sit well with me in the sense of food education.

    We ARE all different…how boring a world it would be if we weren’t. And, I have respect for people that are firm to their beliefs (we certainly have that in common 🙂 ). I love you, I adore your wife, I respect your teachings and SOOO look forward to your blogs (ALL of them).
    It’s MY opinion that disclaimers are NOT necessary…it’s YOUR blog with YOUR views and opinions…and people can read, interpret and react the way they choose…that IS what the comment section is for, right?
    😉

Leave a Reply

