children’s stories

by pastortimfowler

Today I was reading the Bible story of David and Goliath. I remember my MeMa reading it to me as a little kid. She was a great story-teller because she would use different voices for each character. I use to sit and picture myself as David, walking toward the giant and picture my brother as the giant, and hurling the rock into his head. Of course after I did that I would run away, because mom and dad threatened to whip me if I ever through rocks at my brother again. But that is not the point of this.
Everyone was scared of the giant. Goliath was about 9 feet tall and according to the story, a great warrior. I use to go to wrestling as a kid and I remember Andre the Giant who was 7’4″ and about 350 lbs. and that was huge, but this guy was even bigger. And although wrestling was real back then, not like today, Goliath was not a wrestler, he was a killer. The whole Israeli army was afraid of this one guy. Israel had a pretty good army of trained men who had fought many battles, but they were all scared of this one guy.
So David, who was taking his brothers some food, heard what was happening, and got upset that the Israeli army was scared. David asked, “Who is this uncircumcised Philistine?” I love that line. It would make a great line in a movie. David told every that he would go kill the giant and they all said that he was crazy. One said that he needed to go home because he was just a boy. David was probably a teen age boy, but as a shepherd, he had seen his share of danger.
David told the guys, “look, I protect my sheep from lions and bears and wolves and have killed them, I will kill this giant. David spoke as if he were cocky, but he was not. He was confident, not in his self, but in God. He told the army, “God will deliver this giant to me and the then everyone will see how awesome our God is.
So David takes a few rocks, his sling, and God with him to meet the giant. The giant laughed at him because he was young, had no armor, and no real weapon that he could see. Goliath, of course could not see David’s protector, God and David proceeded to kill the giant and in effect, defeat the whole Philistine army.
Fast forward to today. Other than Andre, we have very few physical giants to fight. But we have a bunch of spiritual ones. And the people of God are acting much like His army did back then. Looking at the enemy and not looking at God.
One thing that I have learned through years of ministry is that when I forget who God is, everything else looks worse. Problems look insurmountable, those who want to defeat me look bigger than life, and even life itself seems to fight like a giant who would have my head. So with God nowhere around, we turn to friends who aren’t looking to God and they see the giants in our life and tell us about the giants in their lives and together we are worthless for anything but fear.
But the Bible say that God’s people have not been given the spirit of fear, and so we need to turn our focus to God. Fear is the enemy’s way of getting us out of the battle. Fear causes us to surrender and never even try to fight. Fear usually comes with a reputation that is bigger than the even the problem.
But I serve a God that not only has a bigger reputation for defeating all enemies, but HE IS BIGGER than all enemies. We have been told that we can do all things through Christ who gives us strength. We have been told the even the enemy of death has been defeated. we still have a few battles to wage, but the giant is dead.
It is time for God’s people to live victoriously. It is time to look our problems over and ask, “who is this uncircumcised Philistine?” I serve the God of life and hope and power and strength. Let’s defeat our enemies so that the whole world knows who our God is.
Maybe its time to remember some old children’s stories.

Leave a Reply

