Instant Gratification

by pastortimfowler

In a world that thrives on instant gratification it can be extremely hard to keep your priorities in focus. I think that it is so funny, the way we get all uptight about things that don’t happen fast enough. I will probably show my age with a few examples, but that’s okay.
When I was a kid, we had a phone that had a dial. You actually put your finger in a hole and spun the dial to indicate a number and you had to dial every number of a phone number. No matter how fast you were, you could only dial as fast as the dial would spin. Now we don’t even remember someone’s number because our phones have a name or a picture to touch in order to place a call. But don’t you get ill when you touch the number you want to call and it take a few seconds for it to start the connection?
I think its funny when people I play games with online get upset because I use the whole 10 seconds on the timer to make my play. Think about that. You are playing a game. If you are doing this at work, you should not get upset with me for taking 10 seconds; you should be doing your job. If you are not working and you are playing for fun, how stressed are you with life if 10 seconds seems that long anyway?
Downloads are fun to watch people freak out over: that or waiting for a page to load. Either way, today it rarely takes more than a few second to a minute. When we got our first computer and put in the floppy disc and began loading the program, we went upstairs and began cooking supper as we waited for disc 1 to load. Then while disc 2 was loading we ate supper and for disc 3, we did the dishes and disc 4 we all got our baths. And that was for 1 program. By the way, do you even know what a floppy disc is?
One of my favorite things to watch is people driving. I make other drivers really mad because I drive the speed limit. Did you know that the speed limit is not how fast you must drive, but rather it is the fastest you can legally drive? But people will get right up on my bumper and bang the steering wheel, throw their hands up, yell, and even blow the horn at me. They really get ill when I point at the speed limit sign as we pass it. Rather than leave a few minutes earlier to get where we need to go, we tend to wait to the last possible minute that gives us any chance to even coming close to making it on time. So we drive faster. Even if we are going on vacation or out for an evening of entertainment, people want to get there NOW.
I try riding a bicycle to work every now and then and although it is only a 20 minute bike ride, I can get there in 5 minutes in my truck, and I get impatient as I ride. When I was a kid, I rode my bike everywhere and could get there super fast! I loved reaching the top of a hill and reaching top speed as you go down the other side. I tried that the other week and was yawning by the time I reached the bottom.
Society tells us that we deserve everything and we deserve it now. Instant access to movies, news, and games makes us even more impatient. We don’t have to wait to have our credit approved to by a car or a house. We don’t have to save to get a down payment. We don’t have to wait on the mailman to bring a letter, and we don’t have to wait to see someone when they get back from a trip. Instant credit reports online no money down schemes when we buy stuff, texts, Twitter and Facebook get our written communication to us instantly and Skype and streaming video let us show the world where we are and what we are doing as we do it.
Now we turn to God and He says wait. He says patience is a good thing. He does not text us right back if send Him an instant message. So we give up on God and turn to those who can tell us what we want to hear right now.
Think about this though. Everyone wants to live a good long time. I personally want to live at least 120 years and if I am ever put on life support, I want to stay plugged up as long as I can. I believe that will help others to have a job taking care of the bald guy attached to circuit breaker 13. But I really want to live that long and not have to rely on anyone to take care of me. I have a weird phobia about someone else helping me use the bathroom. Wouldn’t it be freaky to have someone holding the newspaper while you do your business?
But if you want to live a long time, you need to enjoy time. God has so many things that He wants you to do and many of them take years of patience. Some things you will not see fulfilled in your lifetime, yet the task and the journey is important. There is a line in a song by Aerosmith that says, “life’s a journey, not your destination.” Think about it and enjoy the journey. Slow down, be patient. Not everything is worth instant gratification.

3 Comments to “Instant Gratification”

  1. I love this entry. I think about it, and talk about it often…how rushy rushy life has become. I want this and I want it NOW. The light JUST turned green and the people behind you are blowing their horn. You’re driving 58 in a 55, and the guy behind you passes with hands-a-flailing like you were holding him back from a meeting with the President. 10 year olds can’t wait to be 16, 16 year olds can’t wait to be 18 and 18 year olds can’t wait to be 21. 30 and over, you wonder WHERE all that time went, and sometimes wish you could go back and enjoy it a little bit more.
    Whenever I think about how go-go-go we’ve become, I think of the Alabama song, “I’m in a Hurry”.
    “I’m in a hurry to get things done
    Oh I rush and rush until life’s no fun
    All I really gotta do is live and die
    But I’m in a hurry and don’t know why”

  2. I’m with ya on living 120 yrs. and in good health with enough provisions to boot!

    i saw in the beginning of the blog you mentioned about priorities and have been wondering lately if i have weeded out the lesser issues and urgencies how do i prioritize the remaining important issues i have left when they all seem of equal importance and none seem to depend on the next… i think and pray about it while i drive, but haven’t heard any answers yet as what action to take…

  3. oh and btw, i am not so much stressed about it or in a rush, b/c i do have 120 yrs, just wondering if it’s going to be an answer from above or somethings i should just put my hands to and START somewhere… they just all seem of the same importance. i thought i’d find an answer in Proverbs, Eccl – but nothing really jumped out at me…

Leave a Reply

