A time to kill.

by pastortimfowler

In the book of Ecclesiastes chapter 3, we are told that there is a time for everything under the sun including a time to kill. You don’t know how many times I have read that and struggled with it. I have tried to remember that in the Old Testament God gave specific instructions to the armies of His people and told them at times to kill, and I am sure that has something to do with it, but, the Bible is timeless in its applications. As Christians we are to try to live peacefully with people and we are to love even our enemy and that makes it hard to find a time to kill.
So if we look to the New Testament it is very difficult to find a place to that says it is time to kill. That is why some Christians think they need to be pacifists and look like wimps. I disagree though. God has never wanted His people to look the weakest people on the planet. Instead He has always wanted us to be powerful under His strength and might. So I was doing some reading in Luke chapter 22 and Jesus tells his followers to buy a sword. No, He is not talking about a spiritual sword, He means a real one that could kill someone. You see when you are about doing what is right, people who do what is wrong will fight you. We need to be ready to fight for what is right if necessary.
I know that there are some who are saying, ‘Jesus didn’t fight’ and that is true, but He only refrained from the physical resistance of going to the cross. The ultimate fight was with death and Jesus won that fight by “killing” death. You and I are not being crucified for the world’s sin. We are to win souls by telling others of Jesus and His victory. But what if someone tries to stop you from doing that? Do we just lay down and roll over or do we fight? I say we fight. And I say we have God’s blessing if that fight becomes a physical one. Wow, I think I may have just started a Rednecks for Jesus movement. I am not saying if someone doesn’t want you to tell them about Jesus that you beat the snot out of them and kill them. This really has to do with a much bigger event.
What is all this about? Well today, we awoke to the news that Bin Laden was killed. Although most are rejoicing I am sure that some are struggling with killing anyone. But he was evil. He was against the cause of Christ. His religion was against Christianity and they sought to kill Christians and anyone who supported them. I believe this is a perfect example of when God was behind killing someone. God hates evil. I know that God would have rather had Bin Laden repent from his ways and find forgiveness in Christ, and I am sure that he had a chance to hear that message, but it didn’t happen and the God of justice who says ‘if you live by the sword you will die by the sword’ exacted justice on Bin Laden.
We, the USA, are a Christian nation, and many will seek to destroy us. We do our best to live in peace and help when it is needed. No other country does more in the name of helping humanity in a disaster than the USA. We give like no other nation. We help like no other nation. But when we need to fight, we do that like no other nation. I my humble opinion, this was, a time to kill.

Tags: , , ,

4 Comments to “A time to kill.”

  1. I, like you, agree that God’s people must do what is required to speak for truth no matter what the cost and sometimes that involves killing another. I have always prayed however that God never put me in that position. I think that actually taking another life would change a man’s soul beyond human understanding. When I worked with veterens in the Drug and Alcohol field, I always hurt for those who suffered because they felt remorse for taking a human life (or being responsible for another’s life that was lost) even if that task was part of doing what was right. What a difficult thing to understand and what a struggle it presents us with if that task becomes part of our personal lives.

  2. Thank you for writing this. I really feel that this clarifies what a time to kill means and I have seen several Facebook posts saying that the killings are wrong, but I feel that if we defending ourselves/country then we are doing things accordingly. I know that God hates evil and Bin Laden was pure evil. I myself am thankful he is gone. I pray for our troops and I am so thankful for the NAVY/NAVY Seals and all of our military. I don’t think you could have put this any better.

  3. Tim,

    well said.. I am not sure about the Rednecks for Jesus movement, but I agree that there was a “time to kill” and that God was in support of this action. i have compassion for the soldiers who had to carry out this act. I pray that they know Christ as their savior and aren’t haunted by the things they have seen and endured along this journey.

  4. I believe God’s ways are not our ways. New Testament teaches another way. Gandi, a Hindu recognized wisdom of “Turning the other cheek” many slaughtered and the evil of man exposed bringing pressure on the British. Same w Martin Luther King. It seems blacks would have been justified to pick up their sword after what we did, they chose a peaceful route and won. God uses evil countries to do his work, he can use non believers too. As a Christian, we need to follow Christ’s example, lay our life down for ungodlly. We die, go to Heaven. Others die, Eternal Damnation. We had Bin Laden in our sights and God spared him before. Perhaps, he got off to easy. I believe in justice but not mine to hand out.

Leave a Reply

