Who gets kids?

by pastortimfowler

Again I have been asked to blog about something that is challenging, at the least. Today’s topic; How does God decide who gets children? Well, this should be easy…NOT!
You have to understand that this question comes from a woman that just had a baby today. I wonder what the real, deep, psychological meaning behind that one is? Anyway, I will give it a shot.
First let me begin with the fact that the Bible does not answer that question specifically. It does say that children are a blessing from God though. So the short answer is anyone He wants to bless. Right now I am sure there are many of you going, “you haven’t met my kids, have you?” I have met many kids and decided that I did not like them. They are like those gnats that swarm and get in your face and no matter how much you swat at them they don’t go away. I never even like my own children. They were given to us as a blessing and I am pretty sure that woman God gave me messed them up and turned them into monsters.
The Bible says that grand children are like a jewel in you crown. I think they are like pain in my…I mean, I agree.
Let me get back on track. When God created humans, Adam and Eve were told to have babies and populate the world. He told Abraham that he would have so many ancestors that you wouldn’t be able to count them. If that is so, there are a lot of people who God needs to allow to have babies. I know that there has to be some kind of reasoning behind it, but I really think that it boils down to keeping His promise to Abraham.
People will think that it is fair or unfair that certain people get kids and others don’t. Supposed “good” people who want a child and never get one and the “bad” ones get more than they ever need, it is hard to make sense. But God’s plan is that everyone He allows to be born get a chance to know Him and be used for God’s glory.
There are very few things in life that are harder to explain than this question. God is sovereign. He does not have to explain Himself to us. He has revealed himself in so many ways already. He has given us details to how we should live and how we should raise our children and over and over we ignore them. We turn beautiful blessings from God into spoiled brats. (Not your kids though) One day God will allow us to understand how He decides who gets kids. Until then we need to focus on how to get those kids to know Jesus.
Here is the plan. A child will be given to parents, and before the child is ever born God knows it (Jeremiah 1:4). When the child is born, it will be born naked (Job 1:21). Parents are to raise the child in a godly home (Proverb 22:6). Part of that training should include beating them (Proverbs 23:13,14). Another part of that training should be teaching them not to make fun of bald preachers (2 Kings 2:23,24). One day those kids should leave and start the cycle all over again (Genesis 2:4).
Children are on loan to us from God. We need to do all we can to return them in good shape. You just never know who gets kids.

3 Comments to “Who gets kids?”

  1. Can I pay my “loan” off early?

  2. James 1:27 Pure and genuine religion in the sight of God the Father means caring for orphans and widows in their distress and refusing to let the world corrupt you.

    According to that… we all get children! God is saying more than “This is what you are to do” he is saying “This is how I will bless you” … After all we are all God’s Children who’s care we are under is up to Him as well.

  3. Having a child, is also a good test of our spiritual fruits along the way of raising them.
    **love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control**
    Mine’s only 4, and I’ve been tested a GOOD bit just within the last week!!

Leave a Reply

