Re-post This

by pastortimfowler

If you are on Facebook you have seen something like this:
I have a personal reason for asking if everyone could please put this as their status for 1 hour. I know the ones that will. Think of the ones you know or love who has or had cancer. My wish is that a cure will be found soon as possible. Will you post it for 1 hour.
There are some that are about daughters, moms, other ailments, Christianity and who knows what else. I have actually had people get upset with me for not re-posting something like this and my response is always the same…leave me alone. Not really, but I think it.
Here is my question; What in the world did we do before Facebook to show that we cared about something? I know when I was a juvenile delinquent I use to re-post things that I saw on bathroom walls, but that was not really the same. I re-posted a fence one time because a car took out several of the original posts, but that is not the same.
I re-posted a poster one time because it fell, not because I really cared about the cause.
When I care about a cause I get involved. One of my favorite things to do is give blood. It is easy and relatively painless and only takes about thirty minutes. I have special blood too, O negative, anybody can take it. But according to some on Facebook I don’t really care unless I re-post something that tells everyone how special giving blood is and how I know someone who really has blood, but lost it and now needs it if I re-post.
As most of you know, I am a pastor. I read the Bible a lot. The other day I came across this verse: For God so loved the world, because it was personal to Him, and He would like us to post this for an hour, He knows the ones who will do it because they really care. Everyone else who doesn’t re-post must not really care so He gave His only Son, that whoever believes in Him will not perish but have everlasting life…if they re-post this. WOW! I was freaked out!
I am not sure if God is unhappy with me or not if I refuse to re-post that I believe in Him. I do know that if all I do is post and re-post stuff on Facebook and I don’t help those in need and love those who need love, that He is not happy. But I am pretty sure that my standing with Him is not based on a Facebook post or re-post.
I know that I have probably lost half of my small number blog followers because they may have read this. In fact, the part at the beginning of this blog is copied from a FB friend’s post. Hey!!! I just re-posted!
I know that the heart of those who do this stuff is probably good. I also know that awareness is important to a cause. But I also know that just because I don’t re-post what you think is important or what describes your idea of how I love my family, fight against disease, or show my faith, does not mean that I don’t care.
I have a personal reason for asking if everyone could please put this as you status for ever. I know the ones who will. Re-post this if you really care about people who want you to re-post everything. I know that some won’t because I care more about this than they do, but if you really care that I don’t care, then re-post this.

Tags: , , ,

One Comment to “Re-post This”

  1. I’m just happy you didn’t rant about the chain emails. Because, those MUST be true, right? Right?! What?!! They’re NOT?!!! Well, it’s a good thing, then, that I’ve not wasted my time re-posting ‘moral testing fb posts’ OR forwarding ‘life altering emails’ “to 25 people within the next 15 minutes”.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

