How did it all begin?

by pastortimfowler

I have a problem on Tuesday mornings thanks to a lady’s Bible study at our church. They lure me into the room with coffee and donuts and then ask me questions that cause me to talk for a while. This morning the subject turned to eternity and how the universe and life all started. I am still not sure if I got enough coffee or donuts for the amount of time that I had spent on the subject today. So how ’bout a blog to empty my brain and make room for something else?
Many times I encounter people who do not believe in God. They believe that everything is a result of chance happenings that put the universe into motion. My brain is simple and so I tend to simplify things, sometimes too much. So this subject presents a few things that must be simplified for me. I will try to explain.
Most people agree that things began with a “big bang”. What exploded? Did something explode that always existed or was there a time when nothing existed? If there was a time when nothing existed how did this thing that exploded come into existence? Last time I checked you can’t make something from nothing even in the wildest stretch of science fiction. So that leads one to believe that there was always something. If you can explain how to get something from nothing, please let me know. I really want to hear that. Again I am a simple guy with a simple brain. But something from nothing don’t work.
The next question would be, what is that something that has always existed? Was it something that was lifeless or was it something with life? I am not talking about something dead, because weird things tend to end up growing in dead stuff and dead stuff by definition is something that at one time had life. I am talking about lifelessness, as some scientists insist, a mass that exploded, creating the universe that we now know. Just a funny note, every time I had ever seen an explosion the only thing that is created is a mess, not something so precise as the way our universe operates.
If something lifeless exploded, what produced life? We go through great efforts to sterilize things so that no life will grow. In a perfectly sterile environment, most scientists will agree that nothing lifeless will develop life. How then can a lifeless object explode in the environment of deep space, that does not support life, and yet life become a byproduct of this event?
The other scenario is that the something that always existed was something with life. God fits that description. God is life. But, if something with life explodes in the environment of deep space it is hard to believe that it would produce more life or anything of order. Just think logically.
Of course I believe that God always existed and the He created life as we know it. The universe, the galaxy, the solar system, earth, and life on earth are very complex and work together with great design. Imagine walking through a parking lot and looking down to find a drinking straw. If I were to say to you that the straw was not made by any designer, but rather the winds and rain and lightening that were part of the cosmos of the parking lot blew together all the elements needed to form the drinking straw and formed it through years of evolution, you would correctly say to me; YOU ARE AN IDIOT! Drinking straws are created by drinking straw makers. Where there is a creation there must be a creator.
We often think of eternity from an after-life perspective. I think if we look at eternity from a how it all began perspective that we will find that eternity does matter and provides great logic for tough questions like, how did it all begin?

2 Comments to “How did it all begin?”

  1. LOL.. Glad we could give you inspiration for your blog.. Thanks for always being willing to spend time answering our questions and fellowshipping with us. It’s great to be able to have some “face time” with the pastor for those tough questions..

  2. I’ll NEVER forget, when I was a young child, I asked my Dad about space. Eternity came up and he asked me, “Do you think that space ends?” I said, “Yeah…it must stop somewhere.” He said, “What’s it end with?” I said, “I don’t know…maybe a wall or something?” He said, “What’s on the other side of that wall?” Always liking to have SOME sort of answer at a very young age, I said, “I don’t know….maybe the wall just keeps going.” He said, “If it keeps going, where is it going to? That’s eternity, honey. It never, ever ends.”
    It gave me a visual. Picturing a wall….where does it end…if there’s a wall and it ends, what’s on the other side? If there’s a wall and it doesn’t end, it just keeps going. There is no wall, and space just keeps going and going and going…..there’s holes that go and go and go in these other directions…just CRAZY to think about HOW eternal eternity is. Yeah, I know….but you get what I’m saying!!
    On another note….HOW one can look around at the perfection of the creations of this world, and think it ‘just happened’, is another ‘say whaaaa’ moment for me.
    You should carry with you your baggy with watch pieces for when you come across the ‘big bang’ people. 🙂

Leave a Reply

