Enjoying God

by pastortimfowler

Deuteronomy 12:12 (GW)
12 Enjoy yourselves in the presence of the Lord your God along with your sons, daughters, male and female slaves, and the Levites.

I love reading through the Old Testament and coming across statements like this. We often think of the OT as strict and full of laws and punishments for breaking those laws and then, BAM! you run across something that has never nor will it ever change. God wants His people to enjoy being in His presence. The psalmist wrote in Psalm 122:1, I was happy when they said to me, ‘Let go to the House of the Lord!’
Do you feel this way? And I am not talk just about going to church, but anything that gets you close to God; praying, reading the Bible, serving others, working out in nature. If you don’t enjoy these things, you are not do what God says to do in the verse from the start.
God loves us! He is not sitting around keeping tabs on how often we screw up. God wants us to love Him back by enjoying the good things that are His. Last Sunday in my sermon I read about the Prophet Elijah getting discouraged after a threat. God sent wind, fire, and earthquake, and said, I am not in those, I am close enough to you to let you hear a whisper.
The air I breath was created by my Father in Heaven. The thought that He is powerful enough to move it with enough force to bring down trees is scary, but the thought that He loves me enough to hold me close during that storm is mind-blowing! As I was cleaning up after the windstorm that brought down a tree in my yard, I was able to rejoice in His presence.
It was hard work, because this was a big tree, but what I saw was great. On the ground still attached to a limb was a bird’s nest. I know that they had already hatched and left the nest because I had been watching them for weeks. Seeing life come out of an egg and grow to fly is God saying enjoy! As I cut in the half dead trunk of the tree I noticed that is was full of life. An ant colony was living there. I knew this part of the wood was dead, but I did not know that there was so much life after something dies. Before it was one life in the tree, after it died, there were thousands of lives in the wake of the death. Somehow that brought me a smile as I sat and watched the ants for a break and enjoyed God’s creativity.
As I was picking up the smaller pieces, and my yard was returning to normal, God reminded me of how many times I had enjoyed sitting in the shade of that tree as I read His word and prayed, and although I will miss that shade, I enjoyed that reminder.
Wow, I enjoyed all that God time and I wasn’t even at church. I can’t wait for Sunday when I am surrounded by others who have survived a busy week and made it back to our place of worship and we can all smile and enjoy being in God’s presence together! We are told to enjoy ourselves in God’s presence with others. So don’t dread your time with God. Stop thinking about Him as a ruler with laws that can’t be broken, or else. Think of Him as a loving God, Heavenly Father, who knows that we can’t follow every rule, so He made a way for us to enjoy Him despite our failures.
Christ died so that we can have life. Christ lives so that we can have life more abundantly and live it with great JOY!
Spend some time today and every day, enjoying God!

Tags: , ,

One Comment to “Enjoying God”

  1. “Stop thinking about Him as a ruler with laws that can’t be broken, or else. Think of Him as a loving God, Heavenly Father, who knows that we can’t follow every rule, so He made a way for us to enjoy Him despite our failures.”
    LOVE LOVE LOVE that.

Leave a Reply

