OMG

by pastortimfowler

I just saw on the news that the slang and abbreviation OMG made the new edition of the Oxford English Dictionary. I can’t tell you how many times that I see this and for the longest time did not understand what it stood for. One day I got bold and asked someone whom I was chatting with what that meant when they replied OMG to something I said. What made it so funny is that the person that I was chatting with was proclaiming to be an atheist, so you can see my ROFL response back to being told it stood for Oh my God.
Have you ever thought about where that phrase came from? “Oh my God,” or “Oh God,” are common expressions used world-wide involuntarily at moments of recognition of an intense experience. Now it just seems to be a sarcastic response to something not liked.
I think it goes back to the very first time that humanity saw the power of God displayed. Can you imagine when Adam realized that Eve was naked? I am sure that was a time when OMG was used. What about when Noah brought skunks on the arc and they got scared by a lion?
I was reading about how God destroyed the cities of Sodom and Gomorrah and fire and brimstone began to fall on them. Lot was told that him and his family should flee and not look back, but his wife couldn’t resist and when she looked back she was turned into a pillar of salt. How much you want to bet that her lips were poised to say OMG!
God told Moses when he was getting the ten commandments that we should not take the Lord’s name in vain. Most of us are taught that what it means is not to say God d***, and I am sure that would qualify, but I think if we were to look a little closer we would see that OMG may fall in there too.
Vain means having no real value : idle, worthless. This is something that God is NOT. Yet daily we use His name for no real value. Sad, considering that Christians are supposed to tell the world of God’s power and might. Tell about how He loves us and conquered sin and death so that we could have forgiveness and eternal life. The Bible tells us that the name of Jesus is the only name by which we can be saved and yet when we mess up or get mad at someone it is His name that we blurt out.
God gave us specific instruction to use the name of Jesus in casting out demons, healing the sick, praying for lost souls, and praise and worship. Somehow OMG or hatefully saying Jesus Christ when we are mad at our kids doesn’t seem like the right way to speak such powerful names.
I remember as a young boy getting in a fight at school because someone was making fun of my dad’s name. Although I got suspended from school, I didn’t get in trouble with my dad. He told me that I could have tried a little harder to restrain myself, but defending dad’s name was something that he couldn’t get mad at.
I really want to try to defend the name of my Heavenly Father and my Savior, Jesus Christ. I wish Oxford would have thought twice about this and not put OMG in the dictionary.
But let me finish with this. God loves the world so much that He gave His only Son (Jesus) and whoever believes in Him will not perish, but have everlasting life. OH MY GOD!!!

2 Comments to “OMG”

  1. I like the thoughts of this article. I was taught that taking the Lord’s name in vain was saying, “O my God!” I had never heard that taking his name in vain could mean God****. Interesting. People take God’s name in vain all the time and don’t even think about it.

  2. “oh my God” has never been allowed in our home…I have Christian friends that use ‘omg’ (including myself) as: ‘oh my goodness’, ‘oh my gosh’, or my personal usage is ‘oh my gravy’.

Leave a Reply

