Tweeting Now

by pastortimfowler

As a pastor, I want to stay up on modern stuff. I try to listen to new music, try new methods of worship, listen to and read stuff from younger pastors and do my best to remember that it is not about my generation’s style of church but it is about the generation that is outside of church that matters.
Many years ago I gave in to the laptop movement. I was never sure that I needed one and knew that I did not want one. Now I can’t live without one. I even preach from my laptop on Sundays. I had cell phones for years but only recently gave in and got a smart phone. I gave up a suit and tie early in the era of new dress code for pastors, in fact I like to think that I was ahead of most.
I fought like crazy to stay away from Facebook. I thought that it was ridiculous. As most of you know now I am on it daily and several times a day at that. Blogging was something that I always wanted to do but never thought that I would do and now all five of you are reading my blogs every now and then.
So the next step is tweeting. My friend in Greenville SC tweets all the time. I can tell you that I love him, but could care less if he is at McD’s on Main St. My son, daughter and wife are on Twitter. I care where they are but telling everyone else doesn’t thrill me.
I woke up this morning and had an email from the wife telling me that I now had a Twitter account. Thanks dear.
Does anyone remember when email was new and exciting? Yeah I got one of those after a while too.
So I am going to tweet. I feel like I should join a bird watchers club every time I say that.
I have to learn the protocols of it. I see a lot of symbols. # @ //* and when I do, I think of how you use to get away with cussing in a cartoon. I am not really sure of what to tweet. Like right now I am at a secret location, in a land far, far away, and if I told you where I was I would have to kill you. I don’t think anyone really cares where I am for lunch unless it is my wife and I am not where I was supposed to be.
Should I tweet that I am going to blog, blogging now, or just finished a blog? I tried to blog on my tweet and ran out of characters. Then I tried to tweet about how that bothered me and ran out of characters. Then I tweeted that I hated running out of characters and that made no sense to anyone who did not know that I had tried tweeting about the other stuff.
But…I am on twitter now and you can follow me @pastortimfowler… I think.

Leave a Reply

