Why Tribulation?

by pastortimfowler

The Bible says that it is through tribulation that our patience grows. Whys that? It would have been a lot easier to be patient if we were waiting through a really good ice cream sundae or a parade of our favorite songs on the radio. But no, God chose tribulation or troubles. You have to have had “one of those days” to understand where I am coming from. You know, the ones that everyone and everything seemed to be going against you and your plans.
God even says that the first thing love is, is patient. Now I am expecting the wife to come home in a bad mood. Somehow I would have never put love, patience and tribulation in the same thought pattern. Like the old Sesame Street song says, “one of these things is not like the other…”
I have been around someone all day that gets on every one of my last three nerves. The way they talk, the way they look, and even the way they think bothers me. I was ready to slap them if given half a chance. I kept thinking, come one step closer, please, then BAM! Let them have it.
But God says to love even our enemies. I say “I need more patience to do that.” God says “okay, you can see them again tomorrow.” I say, “but that will cause trouble.” God says, “then you will have more patience.” I say, “I don’t want any more patience.” God says, “I feel the same about you sometimes.” I say, ‘ but you love me, God,” God says, “and that takes a lot of patience, Tim.”
You just can’t win an argument with God. But it think I will take some ice cream now.

3 Comments to “Why Tribulation?”

  1. Great Read! Thanks to God for those times when, the rain goes away, it is in those times that God really shouts! I think He enjoys bringing us through those situations and finally sending the rain!! 🙂

  2. Love it. Thanks for the lesson patience and… the ice-cream too. God is gracious.

Leave a Reply

