Some Thoughts on Charlie Sheen

by pastortimfowler

One of my favorite actors of all time is Charlie Sheen. From Major League to Navy Seals to 2 and 1/2 Men, I have always enjoyed watching him. This may come as a surprise to those of you who know that I don’t watch many movies. Few people can command your attention like he does. I believe this is a special gift that God gives to certain people and we are responsible for what we do with it. I am sure that many would say he is or was a good-looking guy, one of the “beautiful people”. I too was blessed with such good looks.
So why would God give someone great looks and the personality to match only to have them ruin their lives with drugs and alcohol? My answer is I don’t know.
Sure, you thought that I was going to amaze you with a great answer that defined wisdom, but sometimes you just have to admit that you don’t know. What I do know is that God loves Charlie Sheen. Yep, the womanizing, drug doing, alcohol drinking, person that he not only portrayed on TV but has become in real life. God is so weird like that. He loves messed up people. He loves it when we think we have the answers and when we think we have it all. God loves that fact that when we get into such a mess that the whole world begins to turn against us, He turns to us.
God often uses the worst situations that we can possibly get in to in order to have us question what life is all about. I think I said it in a recent blog, but God will often put us flat on our backs so that we have nowhere to look but up.
I think that Charlie Sheen is heading in a really bad direction. I do not know if he has ever had a time that he accepted Jesus as his Savior. If he has, this may be the beginning of God doing a bit of correcting a child that is rebelling. If he hasn’t, maybe this is the beginning of God breaking him down to the point of needing the only one that can truly rebuild us anyway. I pray that someone in his family or circle of friends who knows Jesus will tell him how much he is loved and how desperately God wants to help him. Jesus is the answer and I speak from experience.
You see, not only was I blessed with the great looks and personality like Charlie Sheen was, but I was also on a self destruct path of drugs and alcohol too. I was very close to where he is right now, just minus the money, when God took me in my broken state and loved me back into reality and helped me to overcome what I am sure everyone thought was a lost cause because they thought that I had gone to far.
God is greater than any mess we can get into and His love is stronger than our disbelief or destructive hatred for what ever causes us to sink into such desperate ways. Charlie Sheen does not need Hollywood, he needs a holy God. He does not need 2 and 1/2 men, he needs 1 man, Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

