Who’s your Daddy?

by pastortimfowler

One of the greatest things that ever happened to me was having children. I was never one that liked kids, except me, I always liked me even when I was a kid. But having children taught me more about God that I ever thought could happen. God is tough to understand sometimes, but I think when we get away from religion and start looking at the relationship God wants with us, it is easier to do.
Romans 8:15 and Galatians 4:6 tells us that because of our standing in Christ we have the right to call God, Abba. That word doesn’t sound much like anything I ever called my dad but its meaning is closer to daddy than any other word we are given in the Bible to call God.
My parents had a perfect child, me. I never caused them one minute of grief. Okay, I am stretching the truth a bit here. I was trouble from the time I could think. I started lying before I could walk. Mom told me that I use to cry just to get her in the room to pick me up. Crying is a baby’s way of letting the parents know something is wrong; wet, scared, hungry, hurting. But I quickly realized this, probably due to my super intelligent brain, and would cry just to get her to pick me up. Later I learned to tell them that I was not doing what they had just caught me doing. Even more I learned that you did not have to do your own homework if some cute girl would do it for you.
It was about then that my dad started loving me less. He told me that because I was older I needed to learn to be perfect and never mess up. The condition of him loving me was that I became perfect. As I reached my teen years I fell into the trap of drugs and alcohol abuse. I started stealing to support my habit and even told people from time to time that I was not related to my dad. By that time he had totally disowned me and said that he did not love me at all and would never love me again unless I completely quit doing things that he did not like. In fact I was removed from the family tree, completely eliminated from the family and its love. My dad was no longer my dad.
I hope that by now there are some of you going, WHAT??? You dad would never stop loving you. He would never disown you. There is no way you can be removed from a family. Nothing can change the fact that your dad is your dad! And you would be right.
My dad never quit loving me. There were times that he told me I was not welcome in his house. There were times when he told me that I was a disgrace to the family. There was never a time that he quit being my dad. That fact was based on my birth and not my actions. You could say it had to do with the blood.
God, Abba, Father, has the same standards for us being His son or daughter. Not based on our actions, but based on the blood, the blood of Jesus. Jesus told us that we must be born again. When we are we become His children and although He expects us to grow and learn, He never expects us to be perfect. We can’t.
God will not allow us to in His house sometimes and will be disappointed in our actions sometimes, but He never stops loving us. He can’t.
Now that I am an adult, I have made things right with my dad. I told him that I realized my mistakes and asked him to forgive me. He did. He told me one time that he knew that he was tough on me and that it broke his heart to not allow me in his presence. He told me how proud he was of my ability to learn from my mistakes and to come back to him for a relationship.
If you have strayed from God and fallen into some things that are not up to the family’s expectations, know this; God still loves you. He waits patiently for your return. His heart breaks each second you are away, but His love never lessens.
Having children reinforces this every day. My children are not perfect, but I love them with all my heart. I hope that they see God’s love through my love like I saw in my dad’s love for me.
1 Corinthians 13:4-8 (GW)

4 Love is patient. Love is kind. Love isn’t jealous. It doesn’t sing its own praises. It isn’t arrogant.
5 It isn’t rude. It doesn’t think about itself. It isn’t irritable. It doesn’t keep track of wrongs.
6 It isn’t happy when injustice is done, but it is happy with the truth.
7 Love never stops being patient, never stops believing, never stops hoping, never gives up.
8 Love never comes to an end.

Leave a Reply

