Praise and Worship

by pastortimfowler
Worship

Praise and Worship

Lately there has been a lot of talk in our church about praise and worship. It is a subject that is dear to my heart. For some reason it seems to be confusing and I thought that I could clear the air a bit.
Coming from a very conservative church background, it was hard for me to accept worship as being anything more that showing up at church. Most of what I knew was that the only ones who could make noise were the choir, piano, and organist. Everyone else just sat there and stared with their best “holy” face on.
On the other hand, I went to a lot of concerts and sporting events in my younger days and they seemed to be able to make as much noise as they wanted and no one cared. In fact they would look at you funny if you did not cheer. This seemed to be a struggle in my heart as I grew in my relationship with Christ. The more I loved the Braves, the louder and more frequently I did “the chop” and whistled and shouted. The more I loved Jesus, well, nothing was changing.
So I looked to the one source of truth about the matter to find an answer; The Bible.
Here are some things I found.
Heaven is going to be a noisy place. Revelation 4:8, Each of the four living creatures had six wings and were covered with eyes, inside and out. Without stopping day or night they were singing, “Holy, holy, holy is the Lord God Almighty, who was, who is, and who is coming.” Some of us are going to get there and have a hard time arguing that worship is silent reverence. Yes there is a time to be still and quiet and hear from God, but there will be lots of noise in heaven.
Old Testament saints had no problem making some noise. Ezra 3:13, No one could distinguish between the joyful shouts and the loud sobbing because the people were shouting so loudly. The noise was heard from far away. This happened when they had finished laying just the foundation of the temple. We have a completed building with heat and AC!
In the New Testament Jesus said that his followers would shout out to him or else the rocks would. Luke 19:39-40, Some of the Pharisees in the crowd said to Jesus, “Teacher, tell your disciples to be quiet.”
40 Jesus replied, “I can guarantee that if they are quiet, the stones will cry out.”
I think Jesus has some rocks warming up to take a few people’s places.
I never will encourage worship to be fake. But we praise that which we love. I would encourage you to fall madly, passionately, fanatically, in love with Jesus. As this happens, we will feel a desire to show that love to him and to others. Worship will be less about what others think and more about what God thinks.
The Bible is very clear that those who love the Lord will worship Him in Spirit and in truth. If our worship in church is a true reflection of our love for God, what is it saying right now?
Think about it.

Leave a Reply

