Do you have THE Fever?

by accordingtojoanne

Catch THE Fever

The Bieber fever doesn’t seem to be going away.  Pre-teens, teens and even adults are in love with Justin Bieber.  It’s the latest craze going around these days.  My grand daughters are part of a large population of girls who claim to have the Bieber fever.  I tease them often telling them that if they aren’t careful they may have to see a doctor.  They laugh of course and tell me how it’s not THAT kind of a fever.

This week I have been focused on another kind of fever.  I have had the flu and with the flu comes fever.  A sign of getting well, the doctor told me, was that I would no longer have a fever.  Until I could go 24 hours without fever medication and without having a fever I was told I would be contagious.  Every day my focus has been on getting rid of my fever so I could get back to my regular activities.

After day 5 days of sickness, I finally began to feel like maybe I was on the road to recovery.  Yesterday I was filled with anticipation of getting up this morning and going to church.  I could barely contain my excitement.  I have had the Jesus fever all week.  Not because I wanted to get out of the house but because I wanted to be with my Christian friends in joint worship.  I could not wait to hear the music, to hear the scriptures, to raise my hands and praise him.

This morning to my great disappointment I awoke still not well enough to go to church.  I tried for about 45 minutes to convince myself that I could pull it off, that I was well enough to go, but after a while I knew that I was not going to make it.  I was sadden that I couldn’t go, even somewhat heartbroken.  Thank goodness God isn’t just at church on Sunday mornings.  Thank goodness he is here with me right now.

I do a have fever today but it’s the Jesus Fever and it’s like a consuming fire.  He warms my heart.  He comforts me.  He loves me. I, like the kids who can’t wait to hear their fever guy, can’t wait to hear mine.  It’s for sure, no doubt about it, I have THE JESUS FEVER.   It can be contagious and my goal is to spread it to everyone I come in contact with. Unlike the regular fever from the flu, I am not looking for this fever to go away.  It does not hinder my ability to function nor is it a sign of sickness.

My prayer for you is that you have or will get the Jesus Fever.  This is one fever that once you get it, you will not want to get rid of it and you will want to share it too.

OUR GOD IS A CONSUMING FIRE and it is high time that WE BURN FOR Jesus!

Leave a Reply

