Archive for August 15th, 2012

August 15, 2012

Back In The Day

by pastortimfowler

http://www.flickr.com/photos/floongle/2342919934/

So as you know, I watch a lot of TV. Okay, let me restate that; I am in the room where a TV is playing a lot. I pick up on weird things that are said and trends in advertising and especially love commercials and stuff like Pawn Stars and American Pickers. I have noticed that there is a term that is being used all the time now on many of these shows; “back in the day”. I know what it means and understand how it can be used in the shows like I just mentioned, but it gets to be annoying after you here is several times in a show. When they get an old item that is interesting they will say, “Back in the day, people use to…”
So yesterday I had my “back in the day” moment. The worst thing that can happen to a modern man, short of losing his I-phone, happened to me. My HDTV went out. It had been acting up for the last couple of weeks and I knew it was bound to happen, but it always comes as a shock when you press the remote power button and nothing happens. My mind immediately raced to the possibility of getting a new one, but then it raced to my wallet only to find it was lacking funds for a new one. So I had to start thinking about what to do next. So…
Back in the day, I use to work on TV’s. It was nothing for me to open the back of one and pull out my meters and troubleshoot the problem down to a component and then replace it. So I grabbed my tool box that had no meters in it, and pulled out my Phillips head screwdriver and began to open the back of my HDTV. Once inside I saw the beautiful new digital circuit boards and realized that I had best remember that I worked on a different style of TV, back in the day.
I then went to my computer and googled trouble shooting HDTV’s and found a consensus that it was probably the power supply board and that I could order one for much less than I could buy a new HDTV and the cost of the board was closer to what was in my wallet too. So I placed the order online, which is something that I never did back in the day, and sat down to stare at a blank screen on my HDTV. Since the part I ordered was going to take 3-5 days to be delivered, I found myself with another dilemma; what the heck was I going to do about watching Pawn Stars for the next 3-5 days?
Suddenly I remembered that we had put an old TV in the room where the grand-kids were supposed to play their video games but never do because the Wii is hooked up to my HDTV. It still worked and although it was not HDTV, it was at least something that would have a picture and fill the room with sounds of people bartering for trivial items that they no longer wanted. So I unplugged it and carried it into the room and hooked it up and sat down with the remote and pressed the power button. Nothing happened. Of course, back in the day, that TV had its own remote and the one I was trying to use was for my HDTV and it was not the same thing. So I got up and walked across the room and pushed the power button on the front of the TV and lo and behold, it came on. So I sat down and grabbed the remote and began to change channels only to find that this same remote that would not power the TV on, would also not change the channels. So I got up and walked across the room and pressed another button on the front of the TV and found something to watch. Pawn Stars was not on.
Back in the day, we use to have to get up and walk across the room to adjust everything on a TV. This sucks. I wish we had bought a smaller house back in the day now. Perhaps one that was so small the TV sat right next to my recliner. Then I wouldn’t have to get up to turn the TV on or turn to another station. Then, I was ready to go to bed and grabbed the remote to turn off the TV and guess what? Back in the day, we had to get up and walk across the room to turn the TV off.
Back in the day, that was the best TV money could buy. But today the picture quality is horrible. Back in the day, we had a remote that worked for it but now I think it has been taken on to TV heaven. I can’t wait to get my new power supply board and have my HDTV working again. I will sit back with my remote and turn it on and change the channel and watch Pawn Stars and when it is time for bed I will remotely turn it off from the comfort of my recliner and remember that time, back in the day, when I had to get up and walk across the room to turn it on, off, and change channels. Some things just need to stay, back in the day.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers