Archive for July 23rd, 2012

July 23, 2012

What I Did On My Summer Vacation

by pastortimfowler

Gone Fishing

Do you remember that annual elementary school paper that you had to write as soon as you got back to school each year? What I did on my summer vacation. I hated it. My summers were usually filled with top-secret stuff that my friends and I did that we could never tell a soul. So I made stuff up that sounded cool and left out the really good stuff. Well this is my first blog after getting back from my summer vacation and I can’t tell you everything I did or I would have to kill you, and that would get complicated, considering the recent events in the news.
My wife and I celebrated our 32nd wedding anniversary and her birthday, which happen to be the same day. I am the gift that keeps giving. This year, her sister let us stay in her lake house for the week and I took my boat, golf clubs, and motorcycle, and yes, my wife. She took books and sunscreen. She is so easy.
Day one: I played golf and set a new course record. Everyone was amazed at my skills and the fact that I had never played that course before. My score would have been much better, but I realized that I was playing so well that I was not getting my money’s worth, so I started playing left-handed with my right-handed clubs and using only half of a golf ball. After golf I went home to watch my wife tanning and reading. It was the highlight of my day. We ate dinner at a 5 star restaurant that evening where I left a $1000 tip and impressed my wife so much that I did not have to sleep in the spare bedroom that night.
Day two: We rode the motorcycle and when we got back I went fishing. I bought a used jon boat before we left and a used trolling motor and a new battery. Although I had fished this lake before, I had never been on this part of the lake. Fishing is all about knowing the lake and knowing where the fish are. There is a skill factor involved, but I never worry about that. On my first cast I hooked a monster of a fish. I was only using a small tackle that most people use for catching pan-fish, but I like to use it for larger fish to give them more of a chance. It took hours to get the fish close enough to the boat to see what is was. After an hour, there were boats from all over the lake watching what was happening. Some came close enough to offer help, but when they saw that I was only using one hand, they knew that I had things under control. Once I got the fish to the boat it was almost dark and because I only had a trolling motor, I did not want to run out of daylight, so I rigged line to the boat and to the fish and had it swim me back to my dock which was several miles away. I am sure that this was a state record, but I did not have the fish officially weighed. With all of the reports from others who saw the catch, I was awarded the unofficial world record by the president. That night in honor of the fish, I cooked a world-class meal for my wife and did not have to sleep on the couch.
On day three, I played golf again. This time I was not going to take it lightly. So I broke the course record again. I went home earlier to watch my wife sun-bathe and read a book. Again I prepared a world-class meal for her and watched a movie with her and did not have to sleep on the couch or in the spare bed room.
On day four it was our anniversary. Our custom is to go on a long ride together on the motorcycle, so we did. We went to see our daughter and have lunch with her then to see my wife’s parents and then home early enough to go out to a 5 star restaurant where again I tipped generously and wooed the wife enough to not have to sleep in the spare room or on the couch.
Day five I played golf and fished. It was amazing how many people on the golf course were asking me to go fishing again so they could watch me catch another unofficial world record and while I was on the lake, how many people wanted me to go play golf again so they could see me break the record again. Best part of the day was going back to watch the wife tan and read her book. A new record was made that night when I did not have to sleep in the spare room or on the couch for the 5th night in a row.
Day six, we loaded up and came back home and I did not have to sleep in the spare room or on our couch. It was a great vacation.