Archive for May 26th, 2011

May 26, 2011

And The Winner Is…

by pastortimfowler

In case you did not know, last night was the finale for American Idol. In case you didn’t know, I am glad its over. In case you didn’t know, Scotty won. In case you didn’t know, it was the longest 2 hours of my life and I had it DVR’d so that we could fast forward through the 1 hour and 55 minutes of crap before they announced the winner.


I think that I am officially old because I did not get 90% of the music that was played and I certainly didn’t get why they chose the artists that they did to do the finale. It was like they had a bunch of names in a bowl and the bowl spilled and they just grabbed a handful and said “these will have to do”. And if I never see Lady Gaga again, I will take it as a sign that God really does like me.
I thought AI was supposed to be a family show. I am sure that there were millions of kids under the age of 15 watching it. After all, the 2 finalists were teenagers. But if I had kids at home, I would have not let them watch the show. As much as I like Steven Tyler, it is hard to understand why the network made such a big deal about his profanity early in the season, then did a tribute to it on the finale. J-lo is beautiful, but I wouldn’t want my daughter shaking like that for any reason. Randy was in it to win it though. Almost every artist had a sexual overtone to their performance and did I mention that if I never see Lady Gaga again, I would feel blessed?
I felt bad for the girl who was the runner-up. Here is a 16-year-old who had to sing a song with her idol, Carrie Underwood, and had to sing a song that there is not way that she could relate too. I mean, Carrie has had many other hits that a 16-year-old could sing without any problem at all? I like the song and I am not a prude, but the girl could not know about the meaning of that song. And why not let her sing, Jesus Take the Wheel?
I did like the humor that was thrown in from the other contestants who had been voted off. With a few exceptions, I think that this group really did form some friendships.
My honest side of me has to say that I did not think that Scotty would win. From the beginning I said that he did not have the “wow” factor with his vocals that the others had. I really thought the girl would win. I do know this; that many who did not win AI have gone on to do really well and I think that we will hear from her in the future. But Scotty pulled it out.
I believe he did it because he was genuine. Every time you saw him he was the same person and something about him made you think that he was already a star. I heard him mention a few times throughout the season about how he was a person of faith in God. He did not flaunt it and did not make it seem like he was better than anyone else. I think he was a great example of a Christian in the spotlight. The best part about the whole show last night was when a 17-year-old young man said, “first, I need to thank the Lord, who made this possible”. Under all the pressure and excitement of the moment, he was who he had always been, a believer in Jesus Christ.
And the winner is…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers